Class Review: Revolve

Posted on February 16, 2014. Filed under: Uncategorized |

On Wednesday night, I went to Revolve Fitness to try out their BodyRide spin class. There is actually a Revolve Fitness in D.C. (well in Arlington, VA) but I never made it to a class there. The NYC studio is located in Union Square right off the subway and I easily made it to their 6:30pm class.

The locker room is located in the basement and is co-ed but there are separate male and female bathrooms with showers. When I got the “tour” I was told to change in the bathroom instead of the shared space. Now I feel like most cycle studios are all very narrow and get very crowded and it’s so hard to navigate (that’s one thing I actually love about more Flywheel studios – they are huge!) but this studios was SO tiny. I mean it was a mad house before and after class and I felt insanely rushed and barely got my stuff into a locker in time. The spin room is located upstairs where the “lobby” is located – there is only one spin room. It was medium sized with mirrors on three walls and bikes faces a variety of directions.

My friend and I hopped onto our bikes which were on the far side of the room. You can rent shoes but I brought my own – you have to wear clip in shoes. I did buy water since I forgot my water bottle and they were able to easily charge it to the card I had on my account which I appreciated. They have filtered water bottle refill stations for those who brought their own.

So…

What is a BodyRide? (from the Revolve website):

Cardio…Strength…Flexibility…Everything you need in one complete class. This all-encompassing workout allows you to maximize the time you have to work-out in one place. Start out strong. The ride is cardio-intense and gets the heart rate up and keeps it there. Stay moving while you strengthen and tone the upper body on the bike. Polish it all off with a cool down stretch both on and off the bike. You get it all. You get the complete body!

It was your typical 45 minute spin class. We rode for 25 minutes, did 7 minutes of arms and then rode for another 10 minutes and ended with some stretching. The arm portion was longer than any I have experienced and we were told not to pedal so I cooled down really quickly which wasn’t that great. To say the instructor had enthusiasm would have been an understatement. He spent the entire class running around, waving a towel in the air (and sometimes in our faces), flickering the lights and yelling and screaming about. He spent maybe 5 minutes with his butt on that bike. At once point he was right in front of me gripping my bike staring at me and I just put my head down and pumped my legs hoping he would disappear. It was a bit much.

Luckily, almost the entire playlist was off of Beyonce new album and that kept me going and per most spin classes I take, it flew by in no time. I got in a good sweat and my shoulders were sore for days. I’m not sure I’d return to Revolve…clearly I love Flywheel the best, but it was fun to try out a class there.

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...