Class Review: Exhale Flow Yoga

Posted on February 15, 2014. Filed under: Uncategorized |

A week ago, I went to my second Exhale Spa class (from the 3 class Gilt City I had purchased) and this time instead of doing a barre class, I tried out their Flow Yoga. Let’s first start by saying that I haven’t taken a yoga class since November so I knew it was going to be a challenge.

My friend and I went to the Central Park South studio which is absolutely beautiful and so serene. The yoga studio itself was very big and clean. And they gave you freshly cleaned mats as you walked into the studio. The class was packed wall to wall which I think is always the sign of a good class.

We started out with some stretching and ab work and then did a pretty challenging flow for 45 minutes. I was sweating! I felt comfortable in most poses and could follow along pretty well. The instructor was hands on and made adjustments. He was very supportive and also cracked a few jokes here and there which I always appreciate.

After we finished the flow, he gave us time to work on any additional poses or do any poses we hadn’t done in class that our body wanted. It was a little intimidating as most of the class went to inversions but I focused on areas that I wanted to stretched more and stayed in the zone. We then moved our mats to the wall and again either practiced inversions or worked on stretching again the wall. I worked on my crow – the only pose I have where my feet make it off the ground – and the instructor gave me some tips I hadn’t heard before that were helpful.

We ended with our legs up against the wall in savasana and then the 75 minute class was over. It flew by. I worked really hard throughout the entire class, pushed myself during some challenging poses and definitely worked up a sweat. It was a great yoga class and one I would definitely return to. The prices are quick steep though so I’ll have to keep my eyes out for some more online deals.

A glimpse into the yoga studio

A glimpse into the yoga studio

The huge clothing/accessories shop in the lobby.

The huge clothing/accessories shop in the lobby.

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...