The Visitor

Posted on January 21, 2014. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Over the holiday weekend I had a friend visiting from DC which made me happy in so many ways. We spent the weekend catching up and of course, eating good food and exploring NYC.

We started out our adventure at Chelsea Market. I had never been and heard great things and it really is a cool indoor market with lots of different food options. I almost wish we hadn’t eaten brunch before hand and had tried all sorts of great food at the market instead. I think my favorite part was watching people walk around with big, cooked lobsters they were about to devour.

But backing up to brunch. We tried a restaurant in my ‘hood that I will definitely be going back to – The Marshal. While I took no pictures (fail), I can tell you that it was adorable inside and the food was fresh and delicious. We started off with homemade biscuits with honey butter and jam. They were thin and light and crispy and warm. For my entree, I had the Brussels sprout salad and asked to have an over-easy egg added to the top. What a smart decision I made! The salad had shredded Brussels sprouts, croutons, Parmesan cheese and a light Cesar dressing. And the egg just put it over the top. It was DELICIOUS. My friend had the pork shoulder sandwich which was huge and so succulent. I cannot wait to go back there for many more meals!

Now back to Chelsea Market. After we had our fill of exploring inside, we braved the chilly weather for a brisk walk along the Highline before heading back to my apartment to hibernate for a bit. We tried a sushi place near my apartment that was just OK and then met up with a friend for a few drinks. We ended up discovering a great bar a few blocks from my apartment that I really liked. I will definitely be going back there! On Sunday, my Dad and his wife came to visit and we tried out The Delta Grill for some delicious Cajun food.

It was a great weekend filled with delicious food, friends, family and a great first visitor! I have some other items on my “get to know NYC again” list and am looking forward to getting out there.

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

