The random weights workout

Posted on January 16, 2014. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Last night I left work late and hoped to catch a spin class at the NYSC right by my office. Well, I read the schedule wrong and got to the gym 30 minutes after the class had already started. #fail

I thought I really needed a class to motivate me last night but I ended up completing a pretty good weights workout that I randomly made up on the spot. I tried to pull up a circuit workout from a blog but my phone wasn’t working in the gym. I am super sore today so I think that’s all the proof I need that my improvised workout was effective (or maybe it’s just because I haven’t lifted in foreeeeevvvvvveeeerrrr). 

Here’s what I did to work my arms, shoulders, chest and back:

10 bicep curls w/ 10 lb weights
10 bicep pulses w/ 10 lb weights
10 full tricep extentions w/ 5 lb weights (each arm)
10 tricep pulses w/ 5 lb weights (each arm)
10 tricep hold w/ 5 lb weights (each arm)
20 chest presses on a bench w/ 10 lb weights
10 bent-over rows w/ 10 lb weights
10 shoulder extensions w/ 10 lb weights
10 bicep curls into overhead presses w/ 10 lb weights

I repeated each of those exercises 3 times and then went on to do the following:

20 deadlifts w/ 20 lb bar
10 deadlifts with 3 rows w/ 20 lb bar into 3 clean and presses (oof!)
10 pushups
60 second plank
10 sit ups to the front
10 sit ups to the right
10 sit ups to the right
10 sit ups to the left
10 sit ups to the front

I’m sure there was a much more eloquent and fancy way to have written out that workout. I’m glad I improvised and got in some strength training to balance out the running. The workout took me around 40 minutes and I was definitely sweating when it was over!

Image

Have you ever made up a random workout on the spot?

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: Rest
Tuesday’s workout: 3 miles on the treadmill
Wednesday’s workout: 40 minute strength training

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

