The long lost blog post

Posted on January 10, 2014. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Hello, blog world! Yes, this is still a blog and I am still writing…even though I haven’t posted since November. The last 8 weeks have been busy (and that’s an understatement) but I am looking forward to getting back on the blog train and writing posts more frequently.

What better way to catch up then with a list?

1. I moved in my apartment on December 1st and have been adjusting to living in NYC. I never thought it would feel so different from DC but it really does! Now that the holidays are over, I’m looking forward to exploring my neighborhood and being a bit of a tourist again in the city.

2. Via Yelp I found a great indoor farmer’s market a few blocks from my apartment. It’s called Stiles Farmer’s Market and last weekend I purchased Brussels sprouts, tangerines, an onion, green beans, green peppers, yellow peppers, apples and blackberries for $10. YES I AM BEING SERIOUS. I can’t wait to go back this weekend and stock up on all that fresh produce.

3. Half marathon training started on Tuesday and oh boy do I have some work to do. I haven’t really run since October…but I know that once I’m back into the swing of things, I’ll be back on track in no time. I’ve adapted a Hal Hilgdon training plan that includes running 3x a week, cross training 2x a week and resting 2x a week as well. March 30th, I’m comin’ for ya!

4. Speaking of training, I ended up joining New York Sports Club for my gym. My company has a great corporate deal and I was able to get a passport membership which means I can use any gym in the city. Woot!

5. The holidays! Oh yea, remember them? It was SO nice not to have to travel for Thanksgiving or Christmas this year. They were spent in NJ, surrounded by family, and they were very relaxing.

6. I’m so happy all the new TV is back. I know, I know. But this cold weather makes me want to curl up on my couch and enjoy some nonsense on the tube.

7. I made the Italian Wonderpot after seeing it on the Fitnessista’s website. It was super easy, delicious and makes plenty for leftovers for the week.  I also think you could throw in all sorts of other veggies or meats and it would be delicious.

8. I miss DC! Not only do I miss my apartment and my neighborhood but I really miss all the friends I met while living there. I knew it would be an adjustment but I actually feel like I’m homesick for DC and yet I grew up right outside of NYC and have always felt like this was “home.” It’s funny how things can change over time without you even realizing it!

9. I purchased a Groupon for Core Fusion classes as Exhale Spa. A friend and I are going to sign up and get our workout on. I love a good deal on boutique fitness classes.

10. I’m SO ready to meet Baby Rummel 🙂

That’s all for now. Happy weekend to you all!

Stephanie

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

