Class Review: Physique 57

Posted on October 24, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

index

I finally made it to Physique 57 on Wednesday night.  After reading about Physique on a ton of blogs and obviously loving the whole barre workout movement, I was really excited to give it a go. After I signed up for my class I received a phone call welcoming me to Physique. The woman I spoke with gave me some tips for my first class, information about the studio and was ready to answer any questions I had. They have a pretty pricey/strict cancellation policy (which really isn’t out of the ordinary anymore at all of the boutique fitness studios) but when you’re new you can late cancel and receive no penalty (I may have late cancelled twice due to work…oops).

I arrived at the studio, which was white, modern and beautiful. The studio I was at had a nice locker room with lockers, showers and plenty of mirrored space. There were plenty of towels and lots of the usual locker room amenities around including Altoids. I purchased a bottle of water because I forgot mine (one thing I love about Flywheel is that they give you water for free!) and stood around reading all the articles posted on the walls about how many celebrities love Physique.

Because it was my first class I took a Beginner class and it was a challenge from the very start to the very end. The studio was mirrored with bars on every wall and very plush blue carpeting. We started off with 5 lb. weights and did a ton of arms. I actually really enjoyed the arm portion a lot and liked that it was longer than some of the other barre classes I’ve taken in the past. We then moved to the barre and began some serious thigh and butt work. All of the moves were similar to ones I’ve done in the past but much more intense. We also did each move slowly and then rapidly and then repeated that process. There wasn’t as much stretching as similar classes and it was very high energy with fun, popular music. The instructor walked around making adjustments and chatted throughout class, keeping things peppy. She also offered modifications to make certain moves harder as options throughout class.  We used a barre, ball, small mat, large mat and stretchy band throughout class.

The class flew by and ended with a lot of abs, a little back dancing and finally some stretching. The two women next to me were also new (one was super pregnant) and it was nice to have along for the journey. I’d say the biggest focus of class was the legs and the butt but I felt like I got a really good aerobic and anaerobic workout. I was sweating, huffing and puffing a bit and of course, super sore the next day. I literally just sneezed and my abs were in pain.

I left class feeling energized and really enjoyed the workout. Physique offered a 2 for 1 deal when you sign up for your first class and I know have a second free class to use in 7 days. They also really follow up! I received a phone call the day after class asking how I enjoyed it and to see if I had any questions. I also received two emails checking in about how I enjoyed class and with package information. Physique is personal, detailed and dedicated, that’s for sure! I absolutely see why women (and men!) love to take classes there and how they all see immediate results. Class packages are of course pricey – what studio isn’t these days? – but I could see it being another fun class to take here and there as a little treat.

I’m glad I gave Physique a try and would love to go back again soon. Another barre class in the books!

What the studio set up looks like with the props.

What the studio set up looks like with the props.

We actually did this in class and it was tough!

We actually did this in class and it was tough!

Stephanie

Sunday’s workout: 45 minutes Flywheel
Sunday’s meals highlight: Chicken and pilaf at my grandma’s
Monday’s workout: Rest
Monday’s meals highlight: Lemon & herb Tilapia
Tuesday’s workout: 60 minutes Hot Vinyasana
Tuesday’s meals highlight: Mashed sweet potatoes with dinnerWednesday’s workout: 60 minutes Physique 57
Wednesday’s meals highlight: Bow-tie pasta w/ vodka sauce
Thursday’s workout: Rest
Thursday’s meals highlight: Lentil soup

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

