A Very Fall Food Weekend

Posted on October 15, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I really wanted to jump on board the fall bandwagon and go to a pumpkin patch/apple orchard, but I also knew this weekend was going to be so rainy and not really pleasant for said outdoor activity.  Instead, I opted to just bake pumpkin flavored items and make my own applesauce. 

Both, I have to admit were a real success.  I made pumpkin chocolate chip cookies via a random recipe I googled.  These are the only remaining cookies.

pumpkin cookies

And then I made applesauce in a crock pot from Gina’s Skinny Recipes.  I don’t have a picture and truth be told it would not photograph well at all, but I think it was tasty. It’s also incredibly easy to make – aside from the peeling and coring of the apples.  I used all gala apples, but would be fun trying a mix next time.

I did a little shopping yesterday on my day off – I’m totally with Stephanie – every weekend should be a 3-day weekend!  I was browsing some rugs for the baby’s room and while I’m not really going with any specific theme for the room, I do think we need a rug in there -for nothing else just to have something cozy to lay around on.  This is the one I have my eye on right now from CB2.

rug

Last week before it started raining for like 5 days straight, we had some pretty incredible sunsets.  This one in particular caught my eye on Union Station as I was heading home for the night.  I loved how the top of the building was lit up and how each statue’s shadow was clearly visible.

union station

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

