Class Review: Flywheel

Posted on October 7, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Last week I went to my first Flywheel class and I loved it! I went to the studio in Millburn, NJ, which is only a few miles from my Mom’s house. I took the 5:45am class which was very early (it required me to get up at 5:00am) but it was a great way to start the day.

The studio in Millburn is absolutely beautiful and big. (I didn’t take any photos because I feel awkward and really need to know the secrets of other bloggers who are so snap happy.) When I walked in, I signed in on one of the three laptops set up by the front desk. Then a staffer showed me around and helped me set up my bike. Flywheel providse shoes but I was able to use my own. They also provide free towels, water bottles and ear plugs. Nice! The actual studio was also big but very packed with bike. The bikes were set up like stadium seating which I appreciated because I signed up to be in the back row. There was an easy view of the instructor from every seat in the house.

I didn’t sign up to be on the famous torque board, though I did enjoy snooping on what others were doing. And man, were they working hard! I was really impressed with other peoples stats. It was motivating to see how well they were doing and push myself harder. The stats are not up all the time. The instructor randomly puts them up on the screen for a portion of a song. On every bike there is a little digital cube that displayed RPMs, torque, and power. I like how they were lit up and easy to see. I find that it’s helpful to know what torque and RPM the instructor wants us to aim for during each song.

Speaking of the instructor, it was his first time teaching at that location and he did a great job. He was high energy, talkative and clearly working very hard along with us. I was happy his first class was a success! The songs were great and we alternated between some hills and sprints. Then there was the arm portion of class. Toward the end of class, we grabbed a bar that was attached to our bike. There were two bar options and I opted for the lighter one. About half the class didn’t participate in the arm portion and the half that did used BOTH bars. I didn’t give myself a hard time as it was my first time there 🙂 The arm portion was tough. No doubt about that. But it went by quickly and then we were on to our last working song. Great way to finish up class. Needless to say, I left a sweaty mess.

Overall, I really enjoyed my first Flywheel experience and I already plan to go back to David’s class this week. The only downside is that the classes are expensive – $32 per class! I think Flywheel does a great job of giving you your money’s worth with the free amenities they offer and sweaty 45 minute class. I received an email before I got home with my stats for class. It was interesting to see my power, RPM average, torque average and approximate calories burned. Now I can work to beat my own stats at this Thursday’s class.

Next up, my review of Physique 57!

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

