Running a 5k

Posted on September 30, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I did my first 5k as a pregnant lady this weekend!

dugout photos

I haven’t been running at all, it just hasn’t felt comfortable for me, but I signed up for this race because I did it last year and at the end you get to do a lap inside Nationals Stadium!  I signed up with my fave teacher from the gym again and Justin came along for the run this year too!

Justin Dugout

I didn’t have high expectations to run a lot of this race, but I did bring along my Garmin after several months of it sitting around collecting dust.  I ran the first mile with my friend and felt good – not great, but good enough, I think we logged somewhere around a 11:00 minute pace.  We walked the second mile and just chatted and enjoyed the scenery at the Navy Yard and then started running again at mile 3.   I think we finished in a little over 40 minutes – nothing amazing, but felt good to complete my first (and probably only) race pregnant!   I was never winded, I mostly just felt very “crampy” in my belly and wanted to take it easy the whole time.  I had a lot of fun and it was a really beautiful morning to be up and running a race!

Nationals Park

Justin really enjoyed the walk around the inside of the park too!  It’s too bad that we won’t be enjoying any October baseball with the Nationals this year, but I’m already looking forward to the baby’s first baseball game next season!

natitudeNext up on the running schedule will be the Turkey Trot!

In other news, we got some productive baby stuff done this weekend, including deciding on a car seat, finally and Justin putting together the dresser/changing table!

dresser

I loved the dresser before, we bought if for a reason!  But I absolutely love it all together in the room now!

Happy Trails!

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

