Triathlon Training: Week 8 aka that pesky little triathlon

Posted on September 2, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

So I’m doing a sprint triathlon in 6 days and I haven’t trained for the past 10 days. Winning? Week 8 was filled with no training. Zero. Zip. Zilch. And to make matters worse, my trial membership at the gym ended on Friday so as of right now I have no place to workout except the great outdoors. Oops. Poor planning on my part. I have to say, I am beyond impressed with athletes that train for an Ironman or other long-distance race that requires them to train for an extremely long period of time. And most of them do this while maintaining full time jobs and taking care of families. So insane! The only slack I will give myself is that I did just make a big move, start a new job and not give up any fun as the summer was winding down. So, yea. This is my situation and I will do my best to get in some last minute workouts this week before giving myself two full days of rest and then just doing the best that I can during this race.

I know that when Sunday comes, I’ll be excited to get out there and race. I always am and even if I don’t perform my best, I know I will finish the race the strongest way possible and will have fun doing so. And hey, it’s a short race – THANK GOODNESS.  Just to refresh, I’m doing the Athleta Iron Girl Sandy Hook Triathlon on Sunday, September 8th. You can check out all of the details of the race here.  It’s a 1/2 mile open water swim, a 12 mile bike ride and a 3 mile run. My sister has done the race twice and keeps telling me that it’s a flat, easy course and I have the benefit of having my brother-in-law’s sister doing the race as well (and she had done it twice before too). I think it will be helpful to have someone I know out on the course for an extra pep in my step. She is starting in the heat after mine (we are by age and I’m in the second to last heat to take off) but I’m sure she’ll catch up to me at some point 🙂

With the race on Sunday I will also try to eat really well this week and get my hydration on even more than I normally do. I am also going to try and get some good stretching in so I’m feeling nice and loose on Sunday. I had a good run over the weekend in the muggy heat at the shore but afterwards my ankle was really killing me (yes, the tendinitis ankle), so I’ve been icing it and keeping and eye on it. I also really need to get the tires on my bike filled as race day will be my first time riding it in months. I really did do all of my bike training indoors. I am clearly not the model triathlete right now. Could I make that any more clear? Ha!

I’ve read a lot of posts about not racing or not finishing because you don’t feel prepared and last August I wasn’t feeling my best for my first (and only) Olympic-distance triathlon, but I went for it and accomplished a big goal of mine. As I said earlier, this race will be fun and I will focus on enjoying myself and not my time when I cross the finish line.

Ok, enough babble about how unprepared I am. I’m going to go dig through some boxes to make sure I can find all of my gear…

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Triathlon Training: Week 8 aka that pesky little triathlon”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

Have sooo much fun Stephanie!! I cannot wait to do another. Looking forward to hearing about it!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

