West Coast Fun, Part 2

Posted on August 22, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

After two great days in Bellingham, I parted ways with my friends and drove an hour to Anacortes to catch the ferry to Orcas Island, where the wedding was being held. I waited about an hour and a half for the ferry and then the trip on the ferry took a little over an hour. We stopped at Lopez Island and then went on to Orcas Island.

400

Once off the ferry, I drove a quick 20 minutes – including through the super cute downtown – and ended up at the wedding location, Rosario Resort & Spa. The resort had a very “Dirty Dancing” type of feel to it with a main mansion, bungalows, and other little buildings. It was right on the water and had a marina filled with boats and the most amazing views.

The view from my room!

The view from my room!

Hello, beautiful!

Hello, beautiful!

Once I settled in a bit, I headed to the Casacade Grill for some lunch. I enjoyed some fish tacos, potato salad and a cold beer. It was all delicious and totally hit the spot.

404

After lunch, two of my friends called me and said they were headed to Mountain Lake for a swim and asked if I wanted to join them. The rest of our friends were out on a whale watching tour (no, they didn’t see any Orcas – sad!) and I was ready to enjoy some of the island so I went along for the fun. The lake was absolutely stunning and the water was refreshing and so clean and clear. We swam for over an hour! We joked about swimming across the lake and then suddenly we were almost there so we just went for it.  Once on the other side, we found a giant log and spent a good portion of time just messing around with it, which I know sounds crazy, but it was really fun. My friend’s husband even managed to do a few flips off of it! It was a great way to start the trip on Orcas.

Following the swim, we got all cleaned up for a welcome event that night in the mansion. The reception had heavy hors d’ouves and drinks and was a great way to kick off the wedding. Everyone from out of town mingled and then headed outside for a bonfire. Great way to end a night!

409

We were all up early on Saturday morning and headed out for a drive up Mt. Constitution to take in the views. First stop was the local farmer’s market and some breakfast at Brown Bear Bakery. I enjoyed a coffee, some quiche (with goat cheese and smoked salmon) and part of a butterscotch cookie.

410

411

412

413

414

We then headed down to the falls and then did a walk around the lake, which worked up a good sweat.

416

417

418

420

422

423

425

426

I have a lot more to share so I am going to make this a 3 part series…

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

