West Coast Fun, Part 1

Posted on August 21, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Just over a year ago I had the opportunity to travel out to Washington state for the first time to attend a wedding and I had a blast. This past weekend, I went back to Washington for another wedding and a whole new adventure. My trip started out with a train ride from NYC to D.C. I had booked my flight back in May and it was just too pricey to change it to a local airport so I used a train voucher I had and said hello to my old digs for a few hours. When I arrived in D.C. I was immediately welcomed by a very humid evening – something I do not miss – and headed straight to a friend’s house for the night. It was weird not to be headed back to my apartment, I have to admit it!

The next morning I was up bright and early and took an UberX out to Dulles for my flight to Seattle. After landing in Seattle I headed straight to the rental car terminal and picked up my Chevy Impala for the next 5 days. I got on I-5 and headed to Bellingham where I was going to spent two nights with my friends who were married last year. A little over two hours later (and a few wrong turns), I arrived in Bellingham, WA. Bellingham is a really quaint city north of Seattle and pretty close to the Canadian border.  After a short nap, we headed out for some drinks at Archer’s and some dinner at Bayou on Bay. I had a delicious Bloody Mary (with a beer back!) and some shrimp etouffe.

Get. In. My. Belly.

Get. In. My. Belly.

The next morning we hit the road for Mt. Baker to go on a hike. The weather wasn’t ideal but the top of the mountain still has some beautiful views.

380

381

384

385

386

387

388

389

391

I'm totally talking in this picture because we were being attacked by flies.

I’m totally talking in this picture because we were being attacked by flies.

While it wasn’t the nicest day, it was great to get out for a short hike and enjoy the sites of Mt. Baker. We wrapped up my trip with a few drinks at Elizabeth Station, which is a really cute beer/convenience store, dinner at Kuru Kuru and then some more drinks at Boundary Bay Brewery. Overall, it was a really great visit with my two friends. I loved staying at their house, which was so freakin’ adorable, and checking out their city. I can’t wait to go back for another visit!

Part 2 of my trip to follow tomorrow…

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

