New Routine

Posted on July 31, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Today completed day 3 of my new routine and so far so good!

My new commute is a lot longer that it was before but I’m actually enjoying the change of pace. I leave my Mom’s house at 7:45pm, walk 10 minutes to the train station, take a 40 minute train to Hoboken, NJ and then take a 15 minute ferry ride to the Pier 11/Wall Street slip on NYC. I know, I know, it sounds like a lot but it’s actually quite pleasant – especially the ferry ride. I have been totally spoiled by this gorgeous summer weather (we’ll see how I feel about the ferry on a rainy day!).  You really can’t beat a short ride on the water every morning and night all while passing the Statue of Liberty and having a stunning view of the Manhattan skyline. And not only can I sneak a nap in here and there but I also have plenty of time for reading, listening to music and even catching up on some TV shows (pre-downloaded, of course). It’s nice to have the commute time to myself instead of being stuck behind a car wheel for the same amount of time.

I am also adjusting to working at a new organization, in a newly-created position, in a new city. So far I am loving it! While I still have a ways to go before I truly feel settled into my new job, I absolutely love the organization I am working for and my colleagues are all extremely nice and welcoming. The new more relaxed hours aren’t too shabby either 🙂 I can’t wait to learn more and be part of some really exciting work.

My Mom and I went to the grocery store Sunday morning and bought lots of healthy goods. My meals have been consisting of mostly cereal/fruit/coffee for breakfast, salad/vegetables/protein for lunch, string cheese/apples/Fiber One 90 calorie bars for snacks. We also grabbed some hummus to go with some carrots/celery and have been eating vegetables and fish for dinner. Plus, I found a great recipe on Pinterest for a little chocolate post-dinner. I sliced up some bananas, dolloped on some almond butter, made mini banana sandwiches and then dripped semi-sweet chocolate over them and popped them in the freezer. The perfect summer treat! Check out the recipe here.

So far I haven’t seen any friends, haven’t gone to a happy hour and have only quickly walked around my work ‘hood. But, this is just the beginning. And so far, I am loving this adventure.

Stephanie

P.S. I promise to start taking some pictures!

Monday’s workout: Push-ups, planks
Monday’s meals highlight: Dinner with family for my Mom’s birthday!
Tuesday’s workout: 30 minute run outside
Tuesday’s meals highlight: My favorite Armenian meal made by mom Mom
Wednesday’s workout: 30 minute indoor biking + 20 minute swim
Wednesday’s meals highlight: Salad with salmon patty and vegetables for lunch

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

