Greetings from New Jersey!

Posted on July 28, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Hello! Greetings from my childhood home in glorious Summit, NJ!

My move started on Thursday when I went to go pick up my UHaul and they had the wrong size truck reserved. Not the best start to my trip, that’s for sure. Luckily, the General Manager was super nice and helped me out and I eventually drove off in my big old truck. It felt HUGE to me. So different then the smart cars I’ve been zipping around D.C. in lately! My next battle was having to deal with drivers parking in the spots I had reserved for my moving truck, movers and cleaners. I followed all of the D.C. Police Rules – paid $54 for my permits, printed them out and hung them up 72 hours ahead of time – and yet people were parked in the spots. When I returned with the truck there was actually no where to put it. Well the D.C. police showed up in a big way and helped me make room for the truck. They also helped me tow a vehicle when it was STILL in the way the next day during my move. I had a couple of really nice officers help me. Thank goodness!

After packing up the last of the items the night before, I stayed up waaaay too late on my last night in my apartment and was up first thing in the morning making sure everything was ready to go. My friend Quinn came over to keep me company and we chatted it up while the two movers I had hired got everything out of my apartment and into my UHaul in an hour and a half. Hiring movers was the best money I’ve ever spent in my life. After the movers departed, the cleaners came through and suddenly it was time to get in the truck and hit the road. All of my planning came together and I left my apartment earlier than I had anticipated and anxious to get on the road.

Well….

It took me 7 hours to get to NJ.

Holy traffic nightmare.

I stopped only twice in my never-ending journey – once for food and once for gas. There were two accidents that caused major traffic delays and I had to reroute a few times. I survived off scanning the radio stations (man, I wish UHaul’s had cords for iPhones…) and caffeine. Stop and go traffic in a truck is pretty miserable. I was so grateful to pull up to my mom’s house and see a bunch of my family members standing there waiting for me. I was even more grateful when my uncle backed the truck up the driveway and we unloaded the truck in 30 minutes. Thank you family!! After some beer and pizza it was time to hit the hay after what was an extremely long day.

The rest of the weekend has included a yard sale, helping my mom with some stuff around the house, grocery shopping, a nice dinner out, dog sitting and a good workout. Oh and also tons and tons of unpacking and organizing. I am almost done organizing my room and have been doing some food prep for the week as well. The last fun item on this weekend’s agenda is dinner out with my sister, my brother-in-law and my mom to celebrate her birthday.  I am so happy to be here to celebrate my mom’s birthday – it’s something I haven’t been able to do in a long time.

My first day of work is tomorrow…and man am I excited and nervous. I am still working on my different commuting options which I’ll try out this week but I think I’m already sold on the train to Penn Station and then then subway because it’s the most economical. We’ll see though.

So many changes, so many new things and yet, so good to be home. Let the new adventure begin!

Stephanie

P.S. I am totally in love with Addy’s post and miss her already!!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

