Class Review: Xtend Barre at Fuel Pilates

Posted on July 16, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Last night I tried my first Xtend Barre class at Fuel Pilates. Fuel Pilates is located in Georgetown and offers pilates classes in addition to Xtend Barre. Xtend Barre also have it’s own studio in D.C. and is a very similar workout to Bar Method and Pure Barre. When I walked into Fuel Pilates – which is located in this super cute townhouse – I was greeted by a woman at the front desk. I filled out my waiver and she gave me some very quick instructions. The studio had a very strange layout. Upstairs where I walked in there was a waiting area with chairs, etc. and then there was the pilates reformer studio right there.  Downstairs was the open studio for pilates mat and Xtend Barre classes and the one bathroom. There was no changing area so I had to wait for the class downstairs to finish and then used the bathroom to change. I felt like that was a little inconvenient!

There was one long bar with mats, balls and straps set up so I just grabbed a spot. Everyone was grabbing 1lb weights, so I grabbed some too.  Only one girl was wearing gripping socks, everyone else, including myself was barefoot. The instructor came down, turned on the music and just started right away. It was my first time there and it would have been nice to have a moment with the instructor so she knew I didn’t know the ropes. I always appreciate that when I take a new class. That way the instructor can keep an eye on you throughout class and help out when necessary. The barre class was the most similar to a dance class I have ever experienced. We did a lot of straight-up ballet moves which I actually enjoyed and the instructor used a lot of ballet terminology. For someone who didn’t have any experience in dance, it would be challenging to follow along! The class started out a little slow but we did some good arm work that had my shoulders burning and then did a ton of leg work and ended with some ab work. We even did burpees which were a surprise for sure. We used the ball and mat but didn’t use the strap. Even though it was super cold in the studio, I was sweating a lot and working really hard. I am feeling sore today, that’s for sure.

Overall it was a good workout and I enjoyed it, plus the hour went by really quickly. Even though we had music pumping throughout class, I could hear the private pilates lesson happening upstairs. And at the end of class when we were cooling down and stretching, a few people were chatting upstairs and it echoed a lot. I didn’t really like the layout of the studio and didn’t find the staff members too welcoming but I’m glad I gave it a try.

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

