A Very Happy 4th

Posted on July 10, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

It’s taken me almost a week to even post about our 4th of July weekend.  I think I’m still recovering from all those days off!   I am leaving tomorrow for a work trip, which means another short week, but still means I have to do work.  There is something to be said for traveling and being out of the office and not at a computer all day though!

I did a lot of swimming over the long weekend and watched my nephew in two swim meets.  He is so fun to watch and improving each meet.  He even did a full 25 of legal butterfly!!   Butterfly is (was) my stroke, so I was a very proud aunt watching this race especially!

We set off fireworks at my sister’s house on the 4th.  It’s a fun production and while they aren’t super loud fireworks there are some really pretty ones.

This picture mostly just makes me laugh because my niece is being so silly.  And love the purple flowers on the tree!

The Scene

The Scene

fireworks

Lighting the ‘works!

Friday night, I went to Jazz in the Sculpture Garden at the National Gallery of Art with some friends who were visiting from out of town.  I had never gone before, but have heard about it from plenty of other friends.  It’s a really fun and different thing to do.  It gets really crowded too, luckily friends of our friends got there early and got a good spot for us.  After the jazz, we had dinner at Graffiato.  I had been once before with Stephanie and a few other friends.  It was fun to go back, especially because it’s small plates and Justin is never interested in going to small plate restaurants!   The highlight for me was the flat bread accompanied by Mike Isabella’s famous pepperoni sauce.  That sauce is spot on and has the right amount of kick and really tastes like a pepperoni pizza in every bite.

The rest of the weekend, Justin and I just relaxed – spent more time at the pool – and took some lovely afternoon naps!  
Looking forward to some more of those weekends coming up in August!

And I’ll leave you with the prettiest sunset we had one night in Vermont!

vermont sunset

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

