Vacation Mode

Posted on July 9, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Is anyone else still in vacation mode after the long weekend? I spent 5 days in NJ with a quick trip to NYC and a lot of beach time. It was great to see the Jersey Shore looking good and crowded. We played mini golf one night and the Point Pleasant boardwalk was super packed. There is still more work to be done but it’s coming along and felt just like the shore should on the 4th. The weekend was filled with beautiful weather, friends and family and was just perfect. I was sad to get on the Amtrak train and head back here on Sunday, that’s for sure. More beach time, please!!

Week 2 of triathlon training didn’t happen but I am ready to got back on the wagon tonight. I hustled out of work to make it to BodyPump only to arrive at the gym and find that the class had people packed in like sardines. I guess some other people were getting back on the wagon tonight as well 🙂 I hopped on the treadmill and busted out a 30 minute interval run and then did a strength-only circuit created by a friend. My entire workout is below.

30 Minute Treadmill Interval Workout

5 minutes at 5.0
3 minutes 6.0
1 minute 8.0
1 minute 5.0

Repeat minutes 3-5 four more times.

Strength-only Circuit Workout by Ally – I made a few modifications in italics

Arms: with 5lbs dumbells
20 reps 45-degree bicep curls – I used 8lbs
20 reps shoulder rows – I used 8lbs
20 reps shoulder press – I used 8lbs
20 reps tricep lifts – I did 10 full extensions on each side and then 10 pulses on each side (very Bar Methodesque)
20 arm rows from plank (10 each side)
20 tricep dips (no weights)

Core:
50 regular crunches
50 bicycle crunches
1 minute plank
30 second side plank, each side
50 squats with cross-body chop (with one 5lb dumbbell: 25 each side) – I had no idea what this was so I did 25 lunges per leg holding 8lb weights

Back:
25 superman lifts
25 count superman paddle arm & legs

Repeat first 2 arm exercises.

This was a great workout and I was super sweaty. I also feel like maybe the AC wasn’t on at the gym…or maybe I’m just saying that to make myself feel better about myself 🙂 The entire workout, including running, took me an hour. Give it a try!

And here are some other things I’ve been enjoying…

I stumbled upon an episode of Bravo’s Long Island Princesses and I’m obsessed! It’s hilarious, amazing and I just can’t turn away. Add it to your reality line-up stat.

I’ve randomly be catching parts of the series Nine for IX on ESPN and it’s awesome. I caught a little bit of the Venus Williams episode and part of the Pat Summitt one as well (it aired tonight).  The nine videos are part of a series that focuses on female athletes and was inspired by the 40th anniversary of Title IX. Check out the website with information and airing times of all nine videos and take a moment to enjoy the trailer below.

I watched The Oranges and the entire first season of Skins on the train/vacation. There are apparently 6 more seasons of Skins. I’m so behind and now addicted! Must find episodes for free!

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: Rest
Tuesday’s workout: 30 minute run + strength workout

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

