Summer Bucket List: Little Serow

Posted on July 3, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

6 down, 5 to go and it’s only early July! I’m kicking my Summer Bucket List’s butt 🙂

Last night I crossed off Little Serow from my list and it sure was worth the wait. I didn’t take any pictures…but that doesn’t mean the food wasn’t delicious. The menu we had last night is below:

Week of July 2, 2013

nam prik narohk het
mushroom / tamarind / chilies

 

yum mamuang pla mue
catfish / green mango / dried shrimp

 

muu nam tok
pig ears / rice powder / mint

 

gai laap chiang mai
chicken liver / sawtooth / long pepper

 

naem khao tod
crispy rice / sour pork / peanuts

 

gai lan bla kem
greens / salted fish / egg

si krong muu
pork ribs / mekhong whiskey / dill

 

We arrived a little after 5:30pm and there was already a big line to get in. By the time I put my name on the list they said to expect a table between 9-9:30pm. Kind of crazy, right?! We gave them my cell phone and headed back to my place for some wine, music and Catchphrase. We passed the time and at 9:05pm we got the text that they were ready for us and hustled back (you have 10 minutes to return once you’ve received your text). The inside of Little Serow is small and start, there aren’t many tables and there are no decorations of any kind. There is one long, community counter top and a handful of other tables. You can see into the small, open kitchen and they have one single restroom. It’s not fancy like it’s big brother upstairs Komi.
But who needs frills when you serve such great food? The food was definitely spicy (I’m pretty sure my nose was running) and had very unique flavors but it was delicious. There are absolutely no substitutions and you do not choose your meal – it simply comes out one by one. The menu changes every week. I really love Thai food and these dishes had so much going on with them that I really tried to figure out what I was tasting. It was A LOT of food and I was pretty stuffed by the end. I think my favorite dish was the chicken livers that tasted delicious scooped up with a cool piece of cabbage. The ribs at the end literally fell off the bones and melted in your mouth. So. freaking. good.  The wait staff was great about explaining each dish and keeping the water flowing. We also had a great bottle of wine that complimented the meal nicely.
I am so glad I finally made it to Little Serow and would definitely go back…but would get in line earlier!
Updated Summer Bucket List below:
  • See an outdoor movie (scheduled to go on June 5th)
  • Check out Union Market
  • Visit either DC Brau or Port City Brewery (I have two free tickets to Port City…)
  • Go to the Hill Country outdoor BBQ at the National Building Museum
  • Go to Pilates on the Patio at Poste
  • Bike out to Gravelly Point and have a picnic
  • Eat at Little Serow (this is seriously my white whale)
  • Go to the beach at least 3x (this will be a challenge…how sad) – One down, one scheduled, one to go!
  • See fireworks (happening this week)
  • Go on a hike
  • Have a farmer’s market dinner party (dishes made with ingredients bought that day!)

I am headed to NJ/NYC for the long weekend. I hope everyone has a great 4th!

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Summer Bucket List: Little Serow”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

From: Darin Armstrong #TeamLIVESTRONG

Hello Stephanie,
Just a quick email to ask if you would be interested in a ‘mutual’ following on twitter. (#FYI I do RT’s ‘ANYTIME’ for all #Triathletes #Cyclists #UltraRunners #Marathoners #FitnessProfessionals who follow me on Twitter and have something important they want mentioned for support…Over 41K folks at your access.) I am currently following you now and am awaiting for your follow-back…

All the very best for the rest of 2013 & beyond Stephanie. Look forward to hearing from you…

(PS. Stephanie, should you follow back, I’ll be mentioning you, including your website, in my #FollowFriday #Shoutouts this week…)

Darin
twitter.com/DarinArmstrong
#TeamLIVESTRONG


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

