Triathlon Training

Posted on June 30, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Yes, I’m doing a sprint triathlon on September 8th. Yes, this is not my first time doing a triathlon. And yes, I’ve started training really early for it. But you know what? I really want to rock out this race. With triathlon season upon us, I’ve been reading race recap after race recap and MAN AM I JEALOUS. I just keep thinking, why on earth didn’t I do a June race? The two recaps that have tugged at my race strings (get it, ha) are from two women who actually did the same race – the Ironman Coeur d’Alene. Check out Page’s amazing race recaps here and Meredith’s inspiring recap here. Grab your tissues, seriously. It is weird that I get all emotional reading race recaps of strangers? Let’s not answer that.

Training Week 1 -bold is what was scheduled and italics is what was completed:

Monday – StrengthBar Method

Tuesday – Run 30Ran 30 minutes on treadmill

Wednesday – Bike 45/StrengthRest

Thursday – Run 25/Swim 30Ran 25 minutes on treadmill, swam 35 minutes

Friday – Rest45 minutes spin

Saturday – Run 30Ran 40 minutes outside

Sunday – Swim 30/Bike 30Rest

I feel like this was the perfect start to training. Even all but one of these workouts was inside, it was a great way for me to ease back in to running (which I haven’t done since April) and swimming (which I haven’t done since last August). I have yet to actually get back on the bike…but the spinning was a good substitute for now.  It felt really good to swim. Sure, I tired pretty quickly but it was nice to be back in the pool. Friday’s spin class was rough. My legs were exhausted from swimming and running the night before. I’m going to need to do some good brick workouts before the race, that’s for sure.

Great start. Let’s see if I can keep it up for the next 10 weeks. I’m heading out of town this week without access to my bike or a pool so those will be a challenge but sometimes you just have to vacation with the family…and run 🙂

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

