#loveislove

Posted on June 27, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Let’s get the bad news out of the way. I’m sure you saw that the Supreme Court invalidated a pretty important part of the Voting Rights Act on Tuesday. Boo.

Now on to the good news…

…I’m sure you also saw Senator Wendy Davis filibuster a drastic abortion law from going into effect in Texas – energizing people all over the world to stand up for their rights. The coverage has been incredible (thank you live streaming video and Twitter) so I won’t share anything but this one little tidbit – Craigslist Missed Connection. Even though I am a New Balance loyalist for my running shoes, I love that she rocked out her filibuster in pink Mizuno Wave Riders. #standwithwendy

And as for the Supreme Court striking down DOMA and Prop 8, I am still in awe. I am not going to post some crazy pictures or a funny meme. I’m sure you’ve seen all of those. Instead I’m going to tell you two stories instead.

I’ve been to a lot of wedding. Like, a lot. No really, I think the number is close to 30 and that doesn’t even include family affairs. And while they have all been beautiful and filled with love, the most amazing wedding I attended was for two of my guy friends. Over Labor Day weekend in 2010, with a stunning view of D.C., I saw two men commit themselves to one another in a ceremony that was filled with friends, family and unwavering  love. And now, three years later, so many people all over this country can experience a day like my two friends were lucky enough to have. Love is love and everyone deserves the right to love and marry whoever they want. What a beautiful world we live in.

The other story is from yesterday. After I left work, I decided to walk by the Supreme Court because it was such a historic day. There were still some news cameras out and about, a cute couple wearing pride shirts and walking their dogs, a couple of tourists, etc. But then something caught my eye. It was a family – two mothers and their daughter – posing for a picture on the steps of the Supreme Court, beaming from ear to ear with huge smiles, arms wrapped around each other. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t tear up on the spot; it was a special moment. That little girl gets to say, “my parents are married,” and there is nothing abnormal about it.

Those two stories are what the Supreme Court rulings on Wednesday meant to me. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I absolutely 100% believe in equality for all.

Ok, fine. One fun picture from Wed 🙂

Ha! Love it.

Ha! Love it.

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: Bar Method
Monday’s meals highlight: Buffalo bowl (Quinoa, shredded chicken, celery, scallions, feta, buffalo sauce)
Tuesday’s workout: 30 minute treadmill run
Tuesday’s meals highlight: Buffalo bowl again
Wednesday’s workout: Rest
Wednesday’s meals highlight: Dinner out at Matchbox
Thursday’s workout: 25 minute treadmill run + 35 minute swim
Thursday’s meals highlight: Very Berry Bar from Whole Foods post-dinner

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

