#Pride

Posted on June 9, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This weekend is Capital Pride here in D.C. and I live in the best neighborhood for it. (LGBT Pride Month is all of June, just FYI). Yes, there are rainbow flags everywhere. And yes, there are many gay men and women running around drunk, some dressed in very unique costumes (yes, the theme was superheros), but that isn’t what this month is about. I think it is about equality and recognizing that love does not discriminate.

Check out this article from the Washington Blade, with 8 perspectives on the LGBT rights movement, including one from my friend Gautam (who I ran into later at the parade!).

My friend and I came back from the brewery and decided to just take in the scene on my corner. We filled up a cooler with beer, grabbed a blanket and sat under a tree, watching the performances at Tortilla Coast. The parade eventually made its way down P street so we took in all of it and then took a break for dinner before walking through the parade some more. I love seeing all the different organizations showing their pride. Amazing.  I love you, D.C.

iPhone photos 5.28.13 022

iPhone photos 5.28.13 021

iPhone photos 5.28.13 019

iPhone photos 5.28.13 020

Before getting my party on, I went to the gym did a strength training circuit courtesy of Julie. It was a tough one but went by really quickly and was the perfect add-on to a quick 20 minute elliptical warm up. The entire workout took me 45 minutes.

1000 Rep Workout

I also did a thorough cleaning out of my closet and donated three bags of clothes. I’ve been trying to clean out my closet more often and really be honest about items I don’t wear anymore. I owe a lot of clothes. A lot. (Though I’m sure I’m not the only guilty one…) And not only is it nice to be a little more simplified about things but also great to donate to those who can really use them. Spring/summer is a great time to take a look and clean things out. Plus, it feels great. DIY therapy 🙂

Hope everyone is having a great weekend so far. I just went to a lovely bridal shower and am now off to a Hawaiian reception. Not your typical Sunday, that’s for sure.

Stephanie

Thursday’s workout: None
Thursday’s meals highlight: Shake Shack
Friday’s workout: None
Friday’s meals highlight: Homemade tacos
Saturday’s workout: 20 minute elliptical + 45 minute strength training circuit
Saturday’s meals highlight: Thai for dinner

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

