Leafy Greens

Posted on May 20, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Is it time for the 3 day weekend yet?! Oh, it’s only Monday? Boooooo. I had a very fun-filled weekend with Bachelorette festivities and a delicious homemade carbtastic brunch. My body is definitely in the mood for some leafy greens and some sweaty workouts.  A fun weekend will do that to a girl 🙂

I bought some kale, brussel sprouts and an artichoke, along with some frozen shrimp to whip up some healthy, light dinners this week. Have you ever cooked an artichoke before? On Friday night, I couldn’t stop eating the perfectly steamed artichoke appetizer. I just want to keep scraping that meat off those leaves with my teeth (why does that sentence seem so graphic?). It was served with  tangy yogurt dip that was the perfect compliment. I’ve been doing some online research on the best way to steam an artichoke. Wish me luck, I will report back! I’m also not sure what exactly I’m doing with my kale yet. Kale chips? Kale salad? Sauteed kale? We shall see. I have grand plans to roast the brussel sprouts and top them with a balsamic glaze. Man, I do have high hopes for myself in the kitchen this week. If only I had done some prep work last night…

The SIDI is back this week. I have kind of fallen off the workout bandwagon lately and I really want to get back on track this week. I’m really excited to get back to yoga this week and am looking forward to some morning Bar Method classes. I always manage to get out of bed for those 🙂 It’s another week chock full of plans but with a relaxing 3-day weekend ahead, I know I can push myself this week.

Monday – Nike Boot Camp
Tuesday – Bar Method
Wednesday – Reboot Yoga
Thursday – Bar Method
Friday – Spin
Saturday – Rest
Sunday – Run? (I think I’m still not supposed to be running…)

Has anyone tried the new fresh-pressed juices at Whole Foods? The Whole Foods right by me does not have a juice bar (like every other blogger in the world seems to have) but maybe they’ll put one in soon if their juices gain popularity. I purchased two green ones to try this week. At $6.99 a bottle, they better be tasty! Addy told me that Starbucks is also hopping on the juicing train. I’ll have to check them out the next time I’m in a Starbucks. Anyone give those a go yet?

That’s all I’ve got in my world today.  Well if this doesn’t qualify as a rambling post, then I’m not sure what does. What’s shakin’ out there?

Stephanie

 

 

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Leafy Greens”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

Are you referring to the BluePrint Juices at Whole Foods? They started up here in Long Island City and are now sold home delivery, at Whole Foods, at Kings, etc. If those are the ones, YES, LOVE THEM!

No, they aren’t the BluePrint Juices (though I haven’t wanted to give those a go for awhile now). They are Whole Foods brand fresh-pressed bottles. They were all over the refrigerated produce area and near the fruit. They had three green flavors, a beet one and another one. Should be interesting to give them a try!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

