Bite of DC Recap

Posted on May 20, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

As I mentioned on Friday, my friend Kim came to visit for the weekend!  We went to Union Market had some breakfast at Buffalo and Bergen.  I really did enjoy the bagel, but the service was sub par.   We ordered water and they gave me a glass that looked like someone had already had half of already.

water

It took a little long to get our bagel sandwiches which was a little frustrating because it didn’t feel that busy, but I also realize they are cooking on what looks like 2 – maybe 3 hot plates.

photo 2222

Sausage egg and cheese

Kim with her bagel and lox

Kim with her bagel and lox

After taking a quick stroll around the market, we headed home and relaxed a bit before the big event of the day: Bite of DC.

We took the metro to the Navy Yard station and walked a few blocks to the waterfront for the event.  We were some of the first people there and got in line.  We had to wait in line maybe 5 minutes before they opened up the event, we stood in the rain, but as we moved through the line, the rain was slowing down.

photo 3333

The event was in a grassy field and as soon as we walked in, I realized I just had to embrace the wetness and mud.  We received a wristband with tabs with each of the 5 restaurants participating – when you get food from that vendor, they rip the tag off your wristband.  We also received these adorable DC flag wine glasses to taste all the different wine/beer of the day.

photo 6

The first “bite” we tried was Luke’s Lobster for the lobster roll.  I’m not a huge seafood fan in general, but I wanted to give it a fair chance.  I tried it, and thought it was ok.  I liked the buttery roll a lot, but gave Kim most of the lobster to eat.

photo 1234

We got there at the perfect time and really didn’t have to wait in many or any lines.  And not only did they have wine and beer stations set up throughout the area, but they also almost always had a wine/beer choice after you picked up your food sample.  It was great placement because we almost always needed a re-fill after getting our food.

Next up we had a white bean and tomato salad with olives from Jaleo.

photo 11

photo 25332

Served with a rosé, of which I was a big fan.

Then we tried the grilled rabbit sausage in an english pea cream with pickled asparagus from Cedar.  I liked this one the best, probably because it was the most filling and interesting taste to me.

photo 21

Our last dish before dessert was a cucumber soup with smoked trout roe from Rogue 24.

photo 42

For dessert we had lemon creme with blueberry and a small cookie with a chocolate garnish from Windows Catering. I completely forgot to take my own picture, so here is one I stole from the Bite of DC facebook page.

dessert

I would have gone back for another one if I could have!

In addition to the food and drinks, there was also a live band, bear pong (yes, bear, with big pails instead of little cups), bocce and corn hole.  The rain stayed away the whole time we were there and it was a really fun experience to share with Kim!   We definitely had a favorite wine we tried and now I can’t remember the name of the vineyard – it was a perfectly buttery, oakey chardonnay…mmm.

Already looking ahead to the long weekend and my short week next week…3 days since I will be off Monday and then Friday for my brother in law’s wedding!  See you soon Memorial Day.

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

