Nike Women’s Half Re-Cap

Posted on April 29, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I haven’t exactly figured out what to say about the Nike Women’s Half yesterday, but I figured I should just start writing.   I am still so full of emotion from running the race, PRing like crazy and feeling grateful for all the amazing support from my friends and family on the course yesterday!

A friend of mine from high school came to town to the run the race, it was her first half.  We went to the start together – we were in the same pace group, but as soon as we crossed the start line, I sort of just took off.   I had to weave through a lot of people through the 9th street tunnel and was worried about keeping a good pace the first mile.  I lost satellite reception in the tunnel and didn’t fully trust my garmin was correct at the first mile – it clocked me somewhere in the low 8’s and then I immediately was concerned I was going too fast.

I saw Stephanie right around mile 2 and she made me smile a ton!  As she mentioned, I think I kept that smile on my face the entire rest of the race.

I saw Justin for the first time right before mile 4 and “cried” to him, I think I’m going too fast!

this picture is awful, but captures my concern

this picture is awful, but captures my concern

After I proclaimed my worry, I decided to just get over it.  I saw the 2 hour pace group right ahead of me and stayed with them for a while.  I knew that I started behind them so I should have been running a faster pace at that point,  but I decided to stay steady with them for the middle miles through Hains Point and then move ahead in the last 5k.

I felt really strong all through Hains Point – at about Mile 8, I really felt like I was going to be able to hit under 2 hours.  I started to taste the glory at that point and got a bit teary eyed.  I snapped out of it and reminded myself I still had 5 miles left!!

Right before mile 10, I saw Justin and Stephanie together.  There was amazing crowd support there too and I was feeling really good!!  I shouted out to Justin that my time was 1:27.  That was significant to me because we had done the Cherry Blossom race in 1:30 and I knew that if I could match that, I could easily go under 2 hours.   I found out later he did not hear what I said at all, but he acknowledged it well at least!

We went back through the 9th Street tunnel and Justin ended up along side me on his bike – it was a lovely surprise to see him there.  I saw another friend when I got out of the tunnel and then saw my sister, bro-in-law, nephew and niece!   I was still feeling really great at that point.  When we turned the corner to run towards the Capitol, the sun was in my eyes and I could tell my legs were feeling a bit tired.  This part of the race is super familiar to me, I’ve done several turkey trots, so I was just concentrating on keeping up what I had been doing all race.

Finally the finish line was in my sights. I saw Justin and Stephanie and then my sister and fam again and tried to sprint to the end.  When the clock was finally in view, I saw it said 1:57, I was cruising and finally knew I did what I came here to do!

photo 3

I thought my goal of going under 2 hours (1:59:59) was ambitious, but I ended up crushing it with a 1:55:01!

I crossed the finish line and was on the red carpet on my way to get my necklace I was exhausted, crying and smiling at the same time. I was looking around for Justin hoping to see him right there to just give him a big celebration hug!

My amazing support crew – thank you all!!!

photo 1

photo2

photo

I’m so glad that I was able to be a part of the first  Nike Women’s Half in Washington D.C.  I loved this course, the weather was amazing and appreciate all the volunteers along the way who made it all possible.  I hope to do this race again next year!

Oh, and I have this really fun Tiffany necklace to remember it by!

necklace

my friend Angelica - her first half marathon!

my friend Angelica – her first half marathon!

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Nike Women’s Half Re-Cap”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

LOVED your recap! Congrats again on that amazing PR!!! Whats the next race!??

THANKS!! I am doing a trail half marathon in June – so we’ll see how that goes. Nothing else on the books yet. how about you?!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

