Spring to Summer Weather

Posted on April 10, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Washington D.C. is finally experiencing spring with all the trees in full bloom, pollen counts high and 90 degree weather!  Sometimes D.C. just skips past spring right into summer.  But the beautiful thing about having 90 degree days in spring is no humidity!  The walk to work in the mornings is downright pleasant – no jacket needed and no incessant amount of sweating.

Last night when I got home, I noticed our tree (which looks like a cherry blossom, but not sure it actually is) was in full bloom too.   It’s a tiny tree, but packs a lot of beauty!  The petals on here don’t last long, so I was glad I was able to snap this picture.

photo5

The Nike Women’s Half is just 2 1/2 weeks away and after running the Cherry Blossom race this weekend, I’m feeling really good about my goal!  I had never done a 10 mile race, I was focused on keeping close to a 9:00 minute pace for the whole thing.  Justin ran with me and was the perfect pacer for me!  We finished with a 9:03 minute pace – 1 hour and 30 minutes – we would have been right under if Justin hadn’t stopped for the bathroom!   The weather was perfect for the race, I’m a little concerned it’ll be even hotter on April 28, unfortunately.

photo4

We had brunch at Matchbox after the race. I made Justin go there because all I wanted was a belgian waffle with fruit and whipped cream.  The Hamilton does not have waffles on their menu and while the pecan salted caramel is to die for, I really couldn’t shake my need for waffles!

photo3

It was good and I finished it in .2 seconds flat.  Justin had banana bread french toast, that he said was good, but nothing special.  I’m glad we tried brunch there and I got my waffle, but I think we’ll stick to the pizza from here on out.

I  just got a text from my fave teacher from group classes and she told me Crunch Fitness is getting rid of her Tuesday morning Diesel class due to low attendance!  There are at least 15 people in that class each week and this past Tuesday there were over 20!  I don’t understand the logic at all in this.  That is the one class that I consistently will wake up at 6 am to attend – every week!   I hope this is something the gym will reconsider after hearing from concerned Diesel attendees!

Have a wonderful Wednesday – enjoy spring…er summer today.

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

