The Crescent City

Posted on April 8, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Good morning! I am up early waiting for my first Peapod delivery after getting home late last night from New Orleans. What a trip it was! The weather was absolutely beautiful and I loved walking around the city, taking in all of the sites. We hit up all of the tourist spots and I loved them all. Luckily my friend who went to Tulane was willing to indulge me and was the perfect tour guide.

After a connecting flight and about an hour long drive in from Baton Rogue (I would recommend flying into BTR and driving to New Orleans if flights are too pricey – it was super easy and save me hundreds), I met up with my friend and we immediately went to get daiquiris to drink while soaking up some sun at the levee. It was the perfect start to the weekend. It’s been a long winter and some vitamin D was just what the doctor ordered 🙂

Picture 001

After our time at the levee, we stopped by The Columns Hotel on St. Charles Street to enjoy a cocktail. The Garden District and the houses were just gorgeous in that area. The architecture is so different from where I grew up and just so beautiful.

Following cocktails, my friend went off to her dinner plans and I went exploring in the French Quarter on the hunt for some charbroiled oysters. I wanted to try ‘s Acme’s but the line was super long so I went across the street to Felix’s and was not disappointed.  I had a dozen charbroiled oysters and they were delicious! I also had two raw oysters courtesy of my neighbors at the bar. Did I mention that I love oysters?! I also had a few glasses of crisp Pinot Grigo which was the perfect compliment.

Picture 002

On Friday night we stayed at The Ambassador Hotel which was pretty nice. However, on Saturday night we stayed at the most adorable boutique hotel called Bluegreen Club La Pension. It was right in the French Quarter was just a great little surprise. The room was beautiful and felt like a cozy one-bedroom apartment and it had wonderful amenities including a sun deck. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to everyone.

We didn't take a bite but thought about it. A lot.

We didn’t take a bite but thought about it. A lot.

chair

Chair on the ceiling…not ideal for sitting!

We started our Saturday morning at Mother’s and enjoyed spicy bloody Mary’s, fresh oyster po’boys and some red beans and rice. Yum! Then we just hit the streets walking around and enjoying the sunshine. We checked out Jackson Square, had our palms read (this was actually super fun) and drank another daiquiri 🙂

po'boy

Picture 017  jackson square

That night we hit the town right, starting off with some Hurricane’s at Pat O’Briens on Bourbon Street. The patio was super crowded so we went inside to the piano bar which was so much fun. There were two pianos with rotating players/singers and requests were submitted on cocktail napkins and even though it was only 6pm, the crowd was pretty wild, singing and dancing along. We made a few friends in there and had a great time before heading off to NOLA for dinner.

The famous Pat O's Hurricane!

The famous Pat O’s Hurricane!

We were both excited to try Emeril’s restaurant and while we both enjoyed, it was a ton of food and not as spectacular as we had hoped for. Maybe it was the Hurricane’s beforehand, but I totally forgot to take photos. Whoops!

The meal started with some tasty bread and we split the Caesar salad and fried green tomatoes. I thought those two appetizers were the best part of the meal to be honest. We then shared the friend chicken and shrimp & grits. We actually ended up taking a bunch of it home and enjoyed it more later and the next morning. I’m glad we gave it a go but I’m not sure I’d go back there again to be honest.

After dinner we then hit up Bourbon street to check out the scene. And what a scene it was! It was exactly what I had pictured and sure was interesting to take in. We spent some good time at the Cat’s Meow being entertained by karaoke.

bourbon 1

bourbon 2

sign

Sunday morning we did some more walking and had breakfast at the famous Cafe Du Monde for cafe au lait’s and beignots. They were delicious! We spent the rest of our time there relaxing on the sundeck before heading back to D.C.

cafe au la

beignots

Overall it was such a wonderful trip and I’m so glad I booked my ticket at the last minute and went for it. I loved New Orleans and can’t wait to go back again soon!

I’m off to unload my groceries and try to figure out my plan for the week with workouts. Hope everyone’s Monday is off to a good start!

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

