Class Review: Peloton Cycling

Posted on February 28, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

After a generous 3 days of rest (yes, I haven’t worked out since Bar Method on Sunday and no, I am not sick), I got back on the workout train this morning by trying out a new spin studio in the area.

Washingtonian Magazine did a write up, which is where I found the studio – Peloton Cycling. What is peloton? Here is what the website says:

The word “peloton” refers to the main pack of riders in a road race. There is nothing haphazard about the creation of a peloton – it is intentional and strategic. We have chosen to incorporate peloton into our name because the energy in each class will come from the instructor and from each cyclist alike.

Katie and I took the “Breakaway” class, which is a 45 minute class that is about speed and intervals. The studio is connected to a CrossFit studio that has been open for about a year. You all know how I feel about CrossFit. The cycling studio opened only two weeks ago and the first class is free with pricing around the range of most other boutique cycling studios in the area – $20/class. While it’s always nice to take a free class, it wasn’t that challenging of a workout. And usually I find most spinning classes a challenge. The instructor was teaching her first class there and never got the mic to work so it was tough to hear here. She really blasted the music which I liked a lot. I also liked the bikes and loved that they had the little screens with the RPM’s. I always feel like I’m doing a better job of following the workout correctly when I can see my RPM’s.

The studio is very simple. There are open bins to put your coat in, towels (for $1 – though we got them for free this morning) and a nice bathroom, however, no showers or no real lockers. The bikes are brand news and in one medium sized studio with about 30 bikes. It’s a great location on 14th and Florida and I’m sure it will see more traffic as more people learn about it. I think there is another studio on U street around 9th and I need to give it a go.

hTKLGr-Ke7mFLgKEPjk60l7g9Dn_PvM46Y-dTx7QI3QuwG6Eq1UkluP788VjvgnRSJWcduZODnR5dANvqd45QwkCCEGVz0L2a4Tgnq998lqJBbVMjghdaooCB2TfejTa016GC76y__Ua96LJQ9B5H2VhFGMWjxy8N3Cu1-O91mks-940x400

I’m glad Katie and I gave it a go this morning and it was a great way to get back on the workout wagon.

Stephanie

P.S. Addy and I went to Range the other night and had the most amazing view. We’ll share at some point!

Sunday’s workout: Bar Method
Monday’s workout: Rest
Tuesday’s workout: Rest
Wednesday’s workout: Rest
Thursday’s workout: 45 minute spin

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

