The really really really crappy run

Posted on February 23, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Katie and I set out to run 7-8 miles today and right from the start the run was pure crap for me. It wasn’t the rain, it wasn’t the cold, I don’t know what it was but my legs weren’t moving and my body didn’t want to run. At all. When we were almost at 4 miles, I had to to take a break and was just losing my cool. I’m glad Katie was there to talk me through it and we walked for a bit and then soldiered on. We ended up parting ways – she was in a good groove – and I continued on moving very slowly. I ended up clocking in just above 7.5 miles but it was pure crap. I almost feel like it didn’t even count as a run and needless to say, I’m in a bad mood about it.

Maybe I’m burnt out. Maybe it just wasn’t a good day. Maybe it was a mental block. I don’t know but even after relaxing for a few hours after the run (finally watched Argo!), I am still not feeling better about it. I kind of want to put my bibs for the St. Patty’s Day 8k and Cherry Blossom race on Craigslist. But I won’t. Not yet.

I’m thinking about taking the week off from running and to maybe focus on some other workouts to give myself a break. We’ll see.

Until then…it’s Saturday night and the weekend isn’t over yet.

Stephanie

Friday’s workout: Rest
Friday’s meals highlight: Pizza at Lost Dog
Saturday’s workout: 7.5 mile run
Saturday’s meals highlight: Nothing yet.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

