Race Recap: George Washington Birthday Classic 10k

Posted on February 17, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

It’s official. I did one race a month* for a year.  (Yes there is an asterisk. No this isn’t like the home run record in baseball. I’ll explain in a  bit.) First, let’s talk about the George Washington Birthday Classic 10k. Katie picked me up at 7:15am and we drove off to Alexandria for the race. We parked (for free – bonus!) and followed the other runners to the start. The starting line was right outside the U.S. Patent Office so everyone hung out inside the atrium until just a few minutes before 8:00am.

The crowd before the start

The crowd before the start

It was a small race with only a few hundred people and very casual and laid-back. There was a guy on a microphone that literally just said, “ready? set? go!” to start the race. While it was really cold out this morning, it was also sunny so a nice day for a run. The course was out and back, mostly flat with one major hill. The first two miles seemed to take forever. I don’t know if it was because I hadn’t run in over two weeks or if it was just the cold, but it took me awhile to get in a groove. After about mile 4, I was feeling good and in a better stride. I was also wearing a ton of layers and by the end of the race I was SWEATING and dying to take them off. I busted out my new Lululemon gloves and loved them (p.s I got them for $20)! No surprise there.  Katie and I had a steady race. My Garmin decided to freeze so we didn’t keep our pace but we both felt good when we finished. We didn’t eek out two more extra miles but it was cold, we ran 6.1 and it was time for brunch.

Post-race, red-faced...looks about usual.

Post-race, red-faced…looks about usual.

Croque Madame with poached eggs

Croque Madame with poached eggs

Now, back to that asterisk. I didn’t do a race in September. If you remember, I returned for a work trip very late on a Friday night and proceeded to sleep through a race the next day ta 6:00pm. Yes, I slept through a race that was at night. However, I did do two races in one weekend in May. So, I’ll allowing it and saying, yes, I ran one race a month for a year. Booyah! Here’s a recap of all my races from the past year:

March 2012: Race Recap: St. Patrick’s Day 8k

April 2012: Race Recap: Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run

May 2012: Race Recap: Capitol Hill Classic 10k AND Race Recap: Warrior Dash

June 2012: T is for Tuesday (there’s a 5k recap in here, I promise)

July 2012: A Weekend in D.C. (another hidden recap)

August 2012: Race Recap: North East Olympic Triathlon

September 2012: Um….see May, please.

October 2012: Race Recap: MCM 10k

November 2012: Philly Half Marathon Race Recap

December 2012: Weekend Update & the #Elf4Health Challenge Continues (Jolly Fat Man Race Recap)

January 2013: Race Recap: 1st Annual District Delights 5k

February 2013: See above 🙂

While I will probably not do a race a month this year, next up in March is the St. Patty’s Day 8k with the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler right around the corner in April. More to come for sure, but nothing else registered just yet.

And just to round this post out, let’s take a look at the delicious meal I had on Valentine’s Day with some friends.

My whipped feta appetizer

My whipped feta appetizer

Jalapeno poppers

Jalapeno poppers

Strombolie

Stromboli

Sweets

Sweets

Stephanie

 

 

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

