Spicy Tortilla Casserole

Posted on February 12, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

We had a ton of leftover tortillas from our Super Bowl party and I had been checking out recipes online and in my Nigella cookbook and while nothing sounded amazing, it gave me some ideas.  I went back and forth on whether to make enchiladas or a casserole. I figured with a casserole I could sort of just throw things in and not really put too much thought into it.

The picture of my star casserole last night did not turn out great, but it was quite tasty!

IMG00447-20130211-2003

The layers included, spicy black beans, cheddar cheese, enchilada sauce, flour tortillas, a diced tomato and green chilies mixture, pepper jack cheese, more tortillas, squash, zucchini, more sauce and more cheese – and that’s it!  I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes.  I think the spicy black beans and green chilies offered the perfect amount of spice to the dish.  I took care of all the flour tortillas in this dish and we ate the entire thing for dinner last night.  Now we have a lot of left over corn tortillas too, but they are not that great, so while I’d like to attempt to do something similar with those, I’m not sure it’ll work in my favor.   Any good ideas for lots of corn tortillas – that are not tacos?

I did my usual Tuesday morning workout today at Crunch.  But have been thinking since starting my half marathon training officially this week that I might need to change up some of my non running workouts.  I’ve talked with a few co-workers about Pound* classes  before and one co-worker just told me today she tried a class at her gym last night and thought it was a great workout.  I’m not all that coordinated so, I don’t do too many dance classes or even step classes, but I think Pound might be a new and interesting class to try!

*Pound class description – Channel your inner performer and rock your body with this modern-day fusion of movement and music. Drum along to a slammin’ soundtrack using Ripstix™ – weighted drumsticks designed to transform drumming into a kick-ass, fat burning, full body interval workout that will leave you dripping sweat.

Half marathon training has begun with a sunny 7 miles on Sunday.

IMG00444-20130210-1224

Trying to run and take a picture of the plane landing at the same time

Justin and I were just discussing Valentine’s day plans – it’s also our 4 year anniversary of our first date.   Last year, we ordered Papa John’s heart shaped pizzas – that were less than heart shaped, but were still tasty.   It does not look like Papa John’s is having the same deal this year, sadly!    I think he is going to make homemade mac n’ cheese, I’m in charge of the salad and dessert.  Time to figure out what fun and tasty dessert to make!

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

