And go.

Posted on January 29, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Well, folks, training season has begun and it’s off to a good start. I woke up 5:30am Monday morning to rain, ice and cold but I knew my running buddy Katie would be waiting for me on the corner so I got dressed and headed out the door. Do you guys remember the epic fail that was the Hot Chocolate 15k? I finally decided that on Monday morning I needed to bust out the cheap rain jacket that was given out for that race. Well, it was a disaster. Right after I left the house, the zipper broke and I ended up looking like this for the rest of the run…

Do you like my headband over hat look?

Do you like my headband over hat look?

Let’s just say it wasn’t too comfortable and that jacket immediately went into the trash when I got home. Thankfully, Katie didn’t ditch me even though I looked ridiculous. That race just keeps on giving…

Our run was pretty good but nothing stellar. We powered through the crappy weather and parted ways at 3.83 and then I ran home to be sure to hit 4 miles, which was on the training plan for Monday. I played in a flag football game on Sunday and between that, my first long-ish run on Saturday (over 5 miles when it was all totaled up), and those 4 miles on Monday, I am SORE. I’m looking forward to hitting my groove again after a few weeks of training.

Even though I really wanted to go to my favorite Monday night Zumba class, I held back and rested up so I would be able to do some strength-training on Tuesday. Unfortunately, getting home at 8:45pm from work tonight doesn’t leave me with much motivation for a workout, even one at home. It happens and vegging out on the couch in my #1 priority for the rest of the evening (after I finish this post, of course).

The weather is supposed to be insanely gorgeous tomorrow and I’m looking forward to some more sunshine! Happy almost hump day 🙂

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: 4.45 mile run
Monday’s meals highlight: Red lentil lemon soup
Tuesday’s workout: Nada
Tuesday’s meals highlight: Red lentil lemon soup again – I have a picture but it looks SUPER gross so I am not posting it but it IS delicious, I promise!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “And go.”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

I love what a planner you are. That lentil lemon soup sounds yummy – I’ve been trying to eat more soups – someday you should post your favorite soup recipe. :).
So fun to see you!!

oh that jacket! seriously, nothing good came out of that race.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

