Back up to speed

Posted on January 26, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

A list.

1. Work has been…busy. I honestly haven’t had the energy to blog after work but I am going to work on setting up more posts to publish throughout the week and re-focus my scheduling time for District Delights because, let’s be real, I love this blog 🙂

2. I bought a pair of J.Crew toothpick jeans a few weeks ago and they were great. They were a little too low on my waist for me, but a great wash and very comfortable. Well, after only a few weeks of moderate wear and one wash, a HUGE hole ripped in the crotch. Not cool, jeans, not cool. I went into J.Crew today and ended up talking with a saleswoman who convinced me to try on the mid-rise toothpick jeans and let me tell you, I AM IN LOVE. They are super soft, an even better wash then the original toothpicks and they sit a little higher on my waist so I don’t fee like my crack is hanging out. Yes, I just said crack and hanging out in the same sentence. It feels good to invest in a nice pair of jeans that fit really well. Let’s hope they don’t develop some insane hole anytime soon…

The first pair of jeans I bought - the classic rinse toothpick jeans

The first pair of jeans I bought – the classic rinse toothpick jeans

The new pair of jeans I purchased - the midrise toothpick in carbon

The new pair of jeans I purchased – the midrise toothpick in carbon

 

3. I received an iPad for Christmas and I have to say, I love it. Like a lot. I just bought a green smart case for it today at the Apple store. Even though I own an iPhone and iPad, I am not very technological and spent a good 10 minutes wandering around the store trying to figure out how to buy the damn case. I finally asked a “genius” and she showed me to how to check out on my iPhone. Um, whoa. It was super easy, super fast and kind of wild. Go Apple, you guys really are super cool.

4. I’ve been riding the bus a lot lately. Mostly just the Circulator but I’ve really been enjoying it and I am still considering selling my car in the new future so my new-found love for the bus is a good one. I really love the different public transportation options in D.C.

5. Inauguration was a blast! While I was definitely more low-key that four years ago, I enjoyed the weekend. I feel like four years ago I really had the full experience of an Inauguration, while this year I only attended two parties and skipped out on the balls. However, the most exciting part of the entire weekend was the volunteer assignment I was given for the swearing-in. I won’t go into too much detail and I know there has been some controversy…so I’ll just leave you all with this one picture.

Yes, this really happened.

Yes, this really happened.

6. It snowed!

7. My sister’s wedding is SO close and I am getting SUPER excited. Her Bachelorette party is only two weeks away. Woo!! I just want all the festivities to begin.

8. My DVR is getting pretty full these days and lately I’ve been enjoying the new season of some of my favorites: Downton Abbey, Shameless, House of Lies and Suits. If you’re not watching these shows you should be!

9. The two dresses are rented for Inauguration were 50/50. The Badgley Mischka one was absolutely fabulous. It was comfortable, fit perfectly and I loved it. The Sachin Babi one didn’t end up working out. Eh, you win some, you lose some.

10. The 5k this morning was a big success in my book. Full post to come soon!

Stephanie

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

