Housekeeping

Posted on January 13, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

2013 is certainly off to a busy start! I feel like there is a lot going on and that it’s time for a little housekeeping, in general. First of all, District Delights is hosting its very first race! Woo! Addy and I are putting together a very simple 5k on Saturday, January 26th at 9:00am. For those in the DC-area, come out and join us, all the details are below. For those not in the area, you should still join us remotely! Tell us about the 5k you run that morning, we’d love to hear about it. Hopefully this race is the start of many more races and events sponsored by District Delights in the future 🙂

logo_comp

What: District Delights 1st Annual 5k

Where: C&O Canal entrance by Jack’s Boat House in Georgetown

When: Saturday, January 26th, 9:00am

What else: Brunch somewhere in Georgetown post-race AND we’re having a giveaway – a $50 gift card to CitySports! Let us know if you plan on joining us!

I spent a quick weekend in NYC/NJ to celebrate a friend’s 30th birthday. It ended up being more than just a 30th birthday celebration because she got engaged the day before! There was certainly plenty to celebrate and celebrate we did. The party was held at Teak in Hoboken, NJ and I had my fill of Asian appetizers, champagne, and cake pops (what a combination, ha). It was also a wonderful opportunity to see a lot of my friends from high school who I hadn’t seen in awhile.

randi cake pops

I rode the PATH a few times and it was great to see it up and running again post-Sandy. I traveled to/from NYC on the Bolt Bus and had a really good experience this go-around. I feel like the bus is very hit or miss. I watched some movies on my iPad, read and just relaxed on two-traffic free trips. It was a miracle.

I am now watching the Golden Globe awards while I prep some food for the week. I boiled a bunch of eggs for breakfast and snacks and am now cooking up some pasta. I’m going to add a ton of veggies (lentils, mixed assortment of beans, green onions, diced tomatoes and corn) and top it with a dollop of Greek yogurt for a delicious, filling weekday lunch. It’s another busy week ahead with fun social engagements (catching up with college girlfriends and celebrating a friend’s recent engagement) all leading up to Inauguration and all the parties that come with it. I need to focus on staying on track this week and getting in some god workouts.

Speaking of workouts, my friend sent me this great ab workout. She is also working toward a 5 minute plank and thought this would be a great workout to strengthen the core. It looks tough and I can’t wait to give it a try this week. Thanks, Katie K!

Tumblr_m9gxceo0ze1qdsgjyo1_500_large

Let’s take a look at how last week’s SIDI turned out and what’s in store for this week:

Monday – Step or Zumba – Success, Zumba!
Tuesday – Free Community Class at ScultpDCdid not happen
Wednesday – Run with a friend (and maybe yoga in the morning – hello fitness goal) – went to spin
Thursday – BodyPump – Ran 3.5 miles with a friend
Friday – Spin – did not happen
Saturday – Out of town – no workout
Sunday – Out of town – no workout

It wasn’t my best week but I enjoyed the workouts I got in. Here’s what I’m thinking for this week:

Monday – Step or Zumba + The Core Challenge
Tuesday – Body Sculpt (a.m.)
Wednesday – Yoga (a.m.) + The Core Challenge
Thursday – Run with a friend (a.m.) and maybe BodyPump (p.m.)
Friday – Rest
Saturday – A class at the gym
Sunday –  A class at the gym

So some of my SIDI is still undecided but the two (possibly three) early wake-up calls will be challenging. Let’s get started on a great week! Off to enjoy some Downton Abbey 🙂

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

