2013

Posted on January 5, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Hello! I hope everyone’s 2013 is off to a good start. I haven’t posted since 2012 and it’s because I have some big news…I got internet in my apartment! Just kidding 🙂 While I did finally join the 21st century and get internet in my apartment, that isn’t my big news. Right after the holidays, I came back from NJ and immediately signed on to a new job and had my first day last Monday. Talk about a whirlwind!

I’m very excited to be starting on a new chapter of my career. While I am sad not to see Addy on a daily basis, it’s exciting to be meeting new co-workers and learning new skills. This past week was a busy one but I know that once some time goes by and I settle in, I’ll feel right at home in my new role. I was super fortunate to find a new job right away and all the details came together perfectly.

My new job is definitely the biggest thing happening for me right now and it’s put other parts of my life on hold and I’m looking forward to getting back on track with my healthy eating and workouts. I didn’t workout while home and really enjoyed time with my family and friends. Since getting back I’ve only worked out once – another free class at SculptDC. It’s time to get back on the wagon and what better time then the start of a new year.

I’ve been thinking about my fitness goals for 2013 and here is what I will be working to accomplish before the end of the year –

  • Complete races in January and February to finish my year of one race a month
  • Run a faster Cherry Blossom 10 miler (last year’s time was 1:39:11)
  • Complete two sprint triathlons
  • Do a 5 minute plank
  • Try yoga

What are your fitness goals for 2013?

I’ve worked out a training plan by modifying Hal Higdon’s intermediate 10 mile training program so I’ll be running three days a week. In addition to running, I’ll be strength training and cross-training. Depending on which triathlons I sign up for, I will also start to incorporate swimming and biking into my cross-training. I’ve been off a training program for awhile now and I’m looking forward to following a new one starting on January 28th.

2013 not only brings a new job and new fitness goals but it also bring the year of my sister’s wedding. I’m not sure it’s possible to be more excited than I am and am looking forward to all of the upcoming wedding events. In February, we’ll celebrate with her Bachelorette, in March we’ll get together for her shower and then it’s time for the wedding in April. So soon!! I realized today that I’ll be traveling home to NJ once every month for the first four months of 2013 and I’m excited because each trip is going to be filled with so much fun. Hello, Amtrak, it’s Stephanie – save me a seat!

The beginning of 2013 also brought the end of the #Elf4Health Challenge, created by Elle and Lindsay. It was such a great experience and while I didn’t accomplish all of the daily challenges, it was a great way to get to know a lot of new bloggers and try some new things. Maybe I’ll participate in some other blogger challenges this year and maybe even attend one of the many retreats (!!!).

I’ve also decided to use the beginning of the year as a reset button for my diet and to take some time to re-focus on eating healthy consistently. Tomorrow, I will be hitting the grocery store to pick up some goods so I can start bringing my breakfast, lunch and snacks to work and have plenty of quick, healthy dinner options on hand at night. I’m going to try out some  new recipes and use the new mandolin slicer my mom gave me for Christmas. It’s time to get back in the kitchen!

I hope everyone is having a great weekend so far.

Stephanie

P.S. Meal highlights and workouts to resume on Monday 🙂

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

