Volunteer or Bust

Posted on January 3, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

New Year’s resolutions might not be my thing, but I have been thinking a lot about what I want to accomplish this year in general.  In terms of my running calendar goals – I feel pretty good about the Cherry Blossom 10 miler and Nike Women’s Half Marathon that I’m signed up for this spring.  I’d like to PR in the half marathon – going under 2 hours would be amazing, but more realistically for me going even 3 minutes faster would be awesome!

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about volunteering in the community.  I’m not sure yet what I want to get involved in or what will work best with my schedule even.  My work schedule makes volunteering on weekdays tough, but I can consistently volunteer on weekends.  I’m pretty open to the type of organization. I do think it would be great to work with children maybe through a big sister/mentoring program.  I also think back on my feet is a great organization that I need to read more about for the D.C. area.  Ultimately, I think it’s important to take part in your community in a positive way and while I spent a lot of time in high school and some in college volunteering in some capacity, I have not done it very much recently.

I am holding myself accountable by writing this here.  I will do the research and find an organization that I want to support and start volunteering this month!

Here is to volunteering in 2013!

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

