SculptDC

Posted on December 19, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Today was my first day of vacation and, oh man, was it awesome. Even though my body refused to sleep in, I did enjoy some coffee on the couch in my pjs while watching The Today Show and I have to say, it’s a pretty great way to start off the day. I also managed to wrap up my Christmas shopping, wrap some presents, clean my apartments, get some laundry done, baked healthy cookies for the #Elf4Health Challenge of the day and run a bunch of other errands I had on my to-do list. I’m not very good at sitting around, can you tell? 😉

One thing I didn’t do was workout today but I got a killer workout last night at SculptDC. My friend Allison is an instructor there and she got me in for free to try out the studio. I’ve take one of Allison’s classes before so I knew I was in for a good, sweaty workout ahead. She doesn’t mess around with those sprints, climbs and jumps. By the last song my legs were hating on me and I was dripping with sweat. That’s my kind of workout!

The SculptDC space is awesome. They have a cycle studio and a yoga studio and a really beautiful space for both of them. Their facility includes men’s and women’s locker rooms, a lounge and a boutique. While I didn’t get a peak into the yoga studio (there was a class starting as I got there), the cycling studio is huge, clean, and serene. They have unique lighting and candles to spice things up. I thought it was a great atmosphere to get my sweat on.

Who wouldn't want to workout here?

Who wouldn’t want to workout here?

They have a couple of different cycling classes including a fusion class that is 30 minutes of cycling and 30 minutes of strength-training, which sounds pretty awesome to me. I’d love to try it some time soon! If you’re in the DC-area you should definitely give SculptDC a try. They are running a really great new member price right now too – one month of unlimited yoga for $60 or one month of unlimited cycling and yoga for $90.

My friend Allison also teaches at Biker Barre (where I’ve taken her class before) so you there are two locations where you can sweat along with her. She always has rockin’ music and knows how to keep the class pumped up. The workout always flies by and I always end up in a puddle of sweat. Check her out at Biker Barre at 7am on Tuesdays and at SculptDC at 7am on Mondays. Do it, go!

Post-workout. Please notice my red face.

Post-workout. Please notice my red face.

I wish I could afford to take classes at all of these fancy boutique fitness studios all the time but alas, I will stick with my trusty YMCA membership. I immediately went home and scarfed down some sushi and called it a night. I’m thinking of trying Pilates tomorrow at the Y. I kind of can’t believe I’ve never taken a Pilates class before. I need to see what it’s all about.

Get in my belly.

Get in my belly.

And in what was probably the most exciting moment of the week, I got a package from my Elf today. She sent me awesome goodies – a Luna bar, a Lara bar, some Reese’s Christmas trees, some Somersaults snacks and two CDs of holiday music. These are all perfect for my upcoming road trip! I’ve been having such a wonderful time getting to know my Elf this round and we’ve really been helping each other through these challenges. I popped a little something for her in the mail today 😉

Hope everyone is having a great week!

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: Circuit workout
Monday’s meals highlights: Um..I already forgot what I ate!
Tuesday’s workout: 45 spin
Tuesday’s meals highlight: We the Pizza or sushi…loved both!
Wednesday’s workout: Rest
Wednesday’s meals highlight: Taramasalata with pita

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

