Weekend Update & the #Elf4Health Challenge Continues

Posted on December 17, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This weekend was a fun one and a relaxing one – the perfection combination if you ask me. I went to three holiday parties, enjoyed another delicious brunch at The Drafting Table (this might be my new neighborhood spot!), watched a really bad movie (Ted…it was so stupid), ran a million errands and participated in the Jolly Fat Man.

Even though I went to bed a lot later than I had hoped on Friday night, I was up at 6:30am ready to run. I drove up to Bethesda to meet up with my friend and we walked to the race start line. This is a very casual race. There are no bibs, no timing, nothing. It’s put on by The Sergeant’s Program and there were a ton of people from their classes that were participating. I did get a green technical long sleeve and enjoyed a delicious brunch after the race (that’s what the race fee covered). We all got together, had a moment of silence for Newton, CT, sang the National Anthem and did a dynamic workout before we were off on the Crescent Trail to run whatever distance we wanted. My friend and I had agreed to run a 5k earlier in the week.

Well, once we got running we were feeling pretty good so we did a 4 mile run (out and back) before calling it a day. I wore my Garmin but we took our time and were chatting the whole run and just having fun. We were hoovering around a 10:00 minute mile the entire time. It was festive, fun and just a jolly good time 🙂

After the run we continued on to RiRa for brunch, which was the perfect way to end our workout. With some coffee, eggs, bacon, hash browns and a bagel, I refueled and headed back to D.C. This was the first time I’ve run (except for one treadmill workout) since the half marathon and it felt really good.

photo

Today is the start of week 4 of the #Elf4Health Challenge. I had a really good time last week getting to know my elf and knocking off the challenges. The highlight of the entire challenge so far was last Thursday when we were supposed to buy coffee for the person behind us in line.

My elf tweeted that she has purchased coffee for the car behind her at the drive-through Starbucks that morning and I knew I was up next! I went across the street from my office to a small cafe populated by a lot of Congressional staff and got in line. I was really nervous about who would get in line behind me. What if they thought I was crazy? The line kept moving and moving and two people my age got in line behind me and before I knew it, I was at the front of the line placing my order for tea. I felt an adrenaline rush and quickly turned to the two people behind me and asked if I could buy their drinks for them.

Now, I will be honest…I ended up telling them I had received good news this morning and was just feeling in the holiday spirit and wanted to do something nice for someone else. And while most of that was true…I didn’t actually receive good news that morning, I just blurted it out. I guess by saying that I made myself feel better about offering to buy their drinks. Regardless, they were super nice and into it and placed their order. And then…asked what my good news was! I again just blurted out, “my sister got engaged!” (I guess I should have added, in July!) We got our drinks and wished each other well and I was on my way.

Even though I felt like I had to tell them something to justify me buying their drinks, I did walk out of the cafe feeling uplifted and like there were little cartoon birds chirping around me and music in the air (like a Disney princess, let’s be honest). I really need to focus on doing more random acts of kindness more frequently.

There are some great challenges lined up for this week that I’m really looking forward to. I’m really enjoying my elf this week too! You should check out her blogs at Adventures in Running and Just Jack (about her SUPER cute son).

How did last week’s SIDI work out? Eh.

Monday – Sculpt & Abs class, Step – success!
Tuesday – Interval cardio, Body Pump – success on interval cardio and did my own strength training
Wednesday – Spin – did not happen
Thursday – Interval cardio, Body Pump – did not happen
Friday – Rest – success!
Saturday – Jolly Fat Man Run – success!
Sunday – Some sort of workout, TBD – did not happen

The week started out strong. It’s time to do better this week! My schedule is a little different this week so I have some flexibility and I know my plan will change but here are the thoughts now:

Monday – Circuit Workout
Tuesday – Body Sculpt
Wednesday – Spin + Body Pump
Thursday – Run
Friday – Rest
Saturday – TBD
Sunday – TBD

Hope everyone is having a good start to their week!

Stephanie

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Weekend Update & the #Elf4Health Challenge Continues”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

[…] 2012: Weekend Update & the #Elf4Health Challenge Continues (Jolly Fat Man Race […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

