The Weird Workout & Weird Dinner

Posted on December 11, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I drank 95 ounces of water yesterday. I don’t normally record how much water I drink but kept track of it for the #Elf4Health challenge of the day. I feel like that’s a good amount but felt like I should have drank more. I woke up feeling very thirsty!

Last night I gave a new class at the gym a try called Sculpt & Abs. The set up for class included a mat, a bench stacked with 5 risers on each side, and medium-light weights (I did 5 lbs and had to up it to 10 lbs when we started using them). I asked the girl behind me if she had taken the class before and she said she comes every week and loves it. She said there were a lot of push-ups so I should be ready for that. She also said the instructor was awesome and great about welcoming in new people.

Hmm.

Class started last and the instructor quickly asked if anyone was new. I raised my hand but she only saw the girl on the other side of class who raised her hand and proceeded to talk to her throughout class, giving her tips and instruction. I on the other-hand, received none. But I’ll be honest, I didn’t really need it because the class was so basic. I felt like the instructor was literally making it up as she went along. We started off by doing a strange warm up that involved a lot of breathing and then went straight into abs.

We did a lot of abs.

And then we did 105 pushups.

And then we did some bicep curls.

And then it was over.

It was just…weird.

I highly doubt I’ll take this class again. I didn’t really feel like I was getting a good workout. I think I’ll stick with Body Pump for my weightlifting needs. I ended up staying for step and there was a sub, which caused half of the class to exit immediately. I thought it was a pretty good workout, it was very cardio heavy, but there was no intricate step combinations, which is what I usually enjoy. I was a little jealous when everyone was coming in for my favorite Zumba class at 7:30pm…but I was also happy that I was already done with my workout for the night.

My dinner that night was also weird (theme of the night?). I popped open a can of sardines in mustard and had those on some crackers with some cheese. Random but it was delicious. I haven’t had sardines in forever. My mom and I used to have them as a snack when I was little and they used to feel like a treat. Yes, sardines as a treat. Bizarre, I know!

Today’s #Elf4Health challenge is to clean out the fridge and pantry. That’s my post-work plan!

Stephanie

Monday’s workout: Abs & Sculpt, Step
Monday’s meals highlight: Mustard sardines for dinner

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

