That Time I Did Crossfit

Posted on December 3, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This past weekend I attended a going away party, a holiday party, saw Lincoln (so good!) and hung out with my grandma. And I also finally tried Crossfit for the first time

I’ll be honest, I thought I was going to love Crossfit. Some of my favorite bloggers are really into it, I enjoy strength-training and trying new workouts. Well, I didn’t love it and I really don’t think it’s for me. There, I said it.

Addy and I tried the class together and I’m glad she was there. For some reason I was super nervous and it didn’t help that I arrived first and saw the class before us finishing what looked like a super intense workout. I was intimidated, I admit it. When Addy arrived we went in and the girl at the front desk told us to stand out back so we stood in the alley with one other guy (also there for the intro class) and waited. We went to the Crossfit Balance Gym. I know every box was different but this one had good reviews on Yelp and was close to my place.

A little after noon, the Assistant Director of the box came out and introduced himself and told us that he was going to be running us through things for the day. We went inside and he asked us to tell him why we wanted to try Crossfit. Well, I made the mistake of saying that I liked trying new workouts and he quickly told me that this wasn’t a fad. Ok, MY BAD, got it! He said we were going to go over some basic moves and then do a WOD (workout of the day). He stressed that Crossfit was about form and that it takes time to get the moves down correctly.

The first move we went over was the squat, which is the foundation for so many moves in Crossfit. He tweaked my form a bit because he wanted me to go deeper while keeping my lower back straight. I have never concentrated so much while doing a squat! The next move was the push-up where we emphasized keeping out shoulders back and squeezed with our elbows bending toward us (like a tricep pushup). After push-ups we went over jumping pull-ups, step ups on a box and finally burpees. Ugh, burpees. For those, we had to throw ourselves down to the ground in one motion, then pop back up into a squat and then jump up, clapping hands above our head. There are so many version so burpees out there and this one was tough.

After we went over all of the moves, we were ready for our WOD. For 10 minutes we were to do as many rounds as we could of 10 push-ups, 10 air squats, 10 jumping pull-ups, 10 burpees and 10 step ups. I ended up getting through 3 rounds and just finished the push-ups (the first move) in my 4th round. I was working HARD. There is absolutely no denying that. The most challenging move for me were the burpees. I felt strongest on the jumping pull-ups (who knew?) and then worked to catch my breath during the air squats and step ups. It was an intense set and it was only for 10 minutes! And I’ll be honest, I am still sore from it today…

When we finished the workout, we talked about it for a bit and then he went over pricing for memberships, how many times people come a week, class structure and the community aspect of the box. We also took a tour of the Balance Gym which is just across the alley and which you get access to with your membership.

Things I Liked:
– That I got such an intense workout in a short period of time.
– That the focus of the workouts are strength-training.
– That you have a membership to a full gym along with the box.
– That you are able to actually record your progress by repeating benchmark workouts.

Things I Didn’t Like:
– The cult-like feel. Yes, I know I was only there for a little over an hour but I totally could get that feeling that others have talked about. I think it’s great that there is a big community aspect to the workouts but it did seem all encompassing.
– It’s EXPENSIVE. Like really expensive. Like Bar Method expensive.
-There isn’t room for a variety of other workouts. Like I don’t know how I’d do Crossfit at least 3x a week (recommended amount for the first month) and train for a triathlon or half marathon. I like Zumba, BodyPump, Step, Spin, etc. I like variety and I like changing it up and while Crossfit does vary their workouts (I don’t think I’d get bored), I like the idea of controlling my workouts more and doing what I want to do that day.

So there you have it, my thoughts on Crossfit. Like I said, I don’t think it’s right for me but I’m glad I gave it a try and maybe I’ll re-visit it at another time.

Speaking of working out, let’s take a look at last week’s SIDI and the plan for this week:

Monday – Zumba – Success
Tuesday – BodyPump – Success
Wednesday – Morning yoga – Went to Sweat Shop with Addy instead
Thursday – Body Pump – Did not go
Friday – Spin – Did the Xtend Barre workout instead
Saturday – Crossfit – Success
Sunday – Spin? – Did not go, rested instead

Pretty good if you ask me! I strength-trained 3x and did cardio 2x, for a total of 5 workouts for the week. Those two rest days were desperately needed!

This week’s plan:

Monday – Rest
Tuesday – Morning BodyPump
Wednesday – Morning Long Ride Spin
Thursday – Morning BodyPumpFriday – Morning spin
Saturday – Rest
Sunday – Rest or workout on my own

Like I mentioned before I have plans every night this week and then have friends coming to stay with me this weekend so it’s a busy week. I will do my best to stay on the workout bandwagon.

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

