Holiday Parties Galore

Posted on November 28, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

December 1st is just around the corner and what does that mean? Holiday party time! Everyone’s calendars seem to fill up instantly around this time of year with parties, receptions, dinners and let’s face it, overindulgence. I really enjoyed Ashley’s post the other day about getting back on track after holiday indulgences and I started to think about what my plan will be the next month in order to keep on track – especially since I an no longer following a training program.

My post-half marathon workout plan is just to have fun and keep a variety in my workouts, with a focus on strength training. I want to get back to the classes I love – Zumba, step, spin, Body Pump, etc. – and run whenever I’m in the mood. You know I’ll also squeeze some Bar Method into my routine as well, I just can’t stay away 🙂

I’m going to aim to break a sweat at least 5x a week. And most of these sweat sessions will have to be in the morning. Just next week I have evening commitments on 4 weeknights. Time to turn back into an early riser!

I am also going to commit to making my breakfast and lunch at home every day so I can bring healthy, portion-controlled meals to work and am only indulging at the actual holiday events. Why waste calories (and money) on a breakfast treat or lunch out when I know I can enjoy the good stuff when I go out at night? It’s just not worth it.

Lastly, being part of the Elf4Health Challenge through the holidays will be a great reminder to keep up the healthy living lifestyle.

The holiday season can totally be about moderation and still fun at the same time. I plan on decorating my apartment this weekend and getting my mini-tree to get in the holiday spirit.

What are your plans to keep things in check during the holidays?

Stephanie

Tuesday’s workout: Body Pump
Tuesday’s meals highlight: Creamy polenta and crockpot rump roast with onions – SO good and SO easy!
Wednesday’s workout: 45 Sweatshop workout at Addy’s gym
Wednesday’s meals highlight: Probably dinner out tonight…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

