Sweet Potatoes & The Icky Run

Posted on November 15, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I’m currently eating sweet potatoes at my desk for breakfast and they sure are good. I microwaved one this morning, added some Earth Balance and some S&P. Delicious and a nice change up from eggs. But yes, I guess it is kind of weird that I’m eating sweet potatoes at my desk at 9:25am.

I broke my super long taper (ha, ha) by going on a 3 mile run on Tuesday. My Garmin wasn’t working (panic!) so I just did the 3 mile loop I know well and tried to take my time. I also didn’t wear appropriate cold-weather running gear and was a bit chilly during the entire run. It’s like I went two weeks without running and forgot everything I know about running. I went out way too fast on my super-fresh legs, then got winded, and slowed down a lot and pretty much felt crappy. I’m going to run tonight on the treadmill and do at least 4 miles and just take my time and then have two days of rest before the race.

Would I have liked to run the past couple of weeks and keep up with my training plan? Yes. Would I have liked to run more than 10 miles for my long runs (the longest I’ve ever run)? Yes. But you know what, I followed my training program extremely well and I know 100% that I can finish this race. Will it be my fastest race? Probably not. But after I cross the finish line on Sunday (with my sister cheering me on!!), I will have run the longest distance I’ve ever run in my life and that’s one hell of an accomplishment if you ask me.

Now back to food…I’m on day 3 of my spaghetti squash/turkey bolognese and I’ll be honest, I’m getting super sick of it. This is the problem when I cook large amounts of food and it’s just me. Who wants to eat the exact same thing for a week? Ugh. I’m going to make another batch of my Tuesday night dinner tonight – Alfresco sausage with sauteed apples and onions. I think I’m going to attempt to whip up some cauliflower mash tonight to go with it. We’ll see how that goes!

Thanksgiving is a week from today – what is your favorite Thanksgiving dish? Mine is the gravy my uncle makes and (not shocking) sweet potatoes.

Stephanie

Tuesday’s workout: 3 mile run
Tuesday’s meals highlight: Sausage, apple & onion saute for dinner
Wednesday’s workout: Rest
Wednesday’s meals highlight: Spaghetti squash with turkey bolognese

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

