A Long Catching Up List

Posted on November 13, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

1. I went to Ohio for the first time the other week and had a great trip. While I was there to work, it was still so much fun!

I love GOTV!

2. I enjoyed a delicious rabbit pappardelle dish on election night (and of course didn’t take a picture) but my favorite meal in Ohio was at the Hubbard Grille in Short North.  Creamy tomato soup,  a refreshing salad and a great glass of red wine totally hit the spot after a day of canvassing.

Roasted beets, fennel, goat cheese and a light dressing = perfection

3. I’m 6-4 in one of my fantasy football leagues and 4-6 in the other one. Just saying.

4. My mom was the last person in my family to get power back on her house. She finally got it back on Sunday – 13 days after it originally went out. Good lord. If you’re interested in donating to those still in need after Sandy, click here.

5. I made the most enormous amount of spaghetti squash last night. It was just HUGE. I feel like I have enough spaghetti squash to feed an army of people. It was my first time cooking up this type of squash and man, was it easy.

6. I also made a ton of turkey bolognese sauce from Practical Paleo to put on top of all this squash. I will be eating this all week.

Chunky and delicious.

7. I also whipped up another egg casserole for breakfast this week. I just threw some eggs into a dish with salt and pepper, let them cook up a bit in the oven and then topped them with some smoked salmon and cooked it all another few minutes. I’m thinking this salty dish will be the perfect start to the my mornings this week.

8. So the half marathon is this coming Sunday. Whoa. And I haven’t run in two weeks. Yup, two weeks. My five days in Ohio were run-free and I am still coming back from a tough sinus infection/cold (hooray antibiotics). My plan is to get two easy runs in this week and then have super-fresh legs for Sunday. I’ll be honest, I’m a little worried that I haven’t run in two weeks but at the same time, I know I can finish this race. I might not be able to stick to under 10:00 minute miles the entire time but I’m hoping when I reconnect with my running buddy Katie, we’ll get into a groove and breeze right through.

9. I need to figure out my race day outfit.

10.  My friends and I have an annual Thanksgiving party and this past Saturday we whooped it up this year. It was Caribbean themed and delicious.

Red Stripe, turkey slider, stuffing, mixed veggies

Emma was also at the party, looking adorable per usual and straight up chillin’ after her dinner.

11. Seeing Bruce Springsteen, Jay-Z and the President at a rally was probably one of the most perfect days of my life.

12. 3-day weekends are life-changing.

13.  I can’t believe Thanksgiving is next week. I am so excited to go home and see my family and am happy I booked my train tickets already. My Kindle is already full of movies and books for the trip.

14. Just this weekend I started brainstorming Christmas presents and now I’m full on obsessed with finding the perfect presents for people.

15. I need to take my car back to the shop but I’m avoiding it. I will do it this week. I will do it this week. I will do it this week.

I think that’s all for now!

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

