Pasta, Pizza, Pasta

Posted on November 12, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I’ve had the urge recently to make more new things in the kitchen, inspired by various blogs.  As I sat down to write this post, I realized these most recent recipes are dominated by pizza and pasta!  Both tasty in their own right.

The pizza I made isn’t your average pizza, I attempted the cauliflower crust pizza that I first read about here.  Overall it wasn’t hard to make, but I don’t think mine was thick enough.  When I baked it – there were some holes in the middle and then when we ate it, it was easier to eat with a fork and knife – it sort of just fell apart when you picked it up.  I think I might have overdone it with cheese too – not surprising.

Post oven, before sauce and cheese

Post oven, soaked in cheese

The end result

Last weekend I made the mushroom and kale lasagna rolls a la Gina from Skinnytaste.  This was a fun recipe to make because I liked losing lasagna noodles as something different and I think it looks so pretty.

Pre oven…again

I had to use the food processor to chop up the kale and that was time consuming since I had to do several loads of kale processing.  The kale, mushroom ricotta mixture needed more flavor…more salt perhaps or also something else. I’ll make this again to see if I can improve.

On Sunday night I made pasta with tomato cream sauce. I googled several recipes but ended on this one. It’s simple enough, but just wanted to make sure I did equal parts of everything.   I served it with a whole baguette from Paul which I rubbed tomato on – pan con tomate with manchego. We managed to eat the entire baguette before I photographed it.  But here is the pasta:

pasta with wine

I’m not sure what’s up next for me, but maybe I’ll branch out of the pasta world!

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

