Wednesday Way

Posted on October 31, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Washington D.C. is pretty much back to normal after Hurricane Sandy, but the devastation in New Jersey and New York is just crazy.  My thoughts are with everybody that has been affected by the storm.   And may everybody be able to get back

Today is Halloween and while I did not dress in any costume at all this weekend, I will be trick or treating tonight with my niece and nephew this evening – both dressed as owls!

I came across this article today about un-friending people on Facebook/being a prisoner of random status updates.  Thank you Jessica over at How Sweet It Is this made me laugh a lot.  I’ve been known to have my own Facebook addiction and this paragraph specifically made me giggle:

I feel like I’m stuck in an episode of A&E’s ‘Hoarders.’ Except instead of being trapped in my own house, surrounded by cats and piles of newspapers and junk from years ago, I’m wading through ten-foot-high piles of meaningless people I’ve collected through social media and now feel artificially connected to. It’s having an effect on my mental health. I shuffle around, loathing pumpkin spice lattes and cursing Nicki Minaj.
I need an intervention.

On a completely unrelated note, Justin and I have been making grilled cheese sandwiches the past several days – being stuck at home with a hurricane will do that to you.  I made a pesto grilled cheese with brie and american cheese the other day and thought it was the best creation ever.  I even toasted it just right, where the cheese is just melty enough and nothing is burnt!

Last night I made this spicy turkey and tomato soup (but with chicken). It just occurred to me right now I should have had a grilled cheese along with it!  We have leftovers, so there is a chance they can be paired together soon.

Happy Halloween!!!

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

