Race Recap: MCM 10k

Posted on October 30, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

First let me say, I hope everyone is OK after the storm. Everything ended up being fine here in the DC for me. I never lost power and was holed up in my apartment watching TV and eating snacks throughout the storm. My family up in NJ/NY seem to be doing OK too though some of them don’t have power. I hope they are all get power back sooner than later!

Now, on to the race recap! I was so happy to be out running in a race on Sunday. It was awesome. Seriously, just awesome. The weather was a lot warmer than I thought it was going to be and I”m glad I ended up wearing my favorite Lululemon running skirt with my “I Love Sweat” shirt. It is really the perfect race day outfit, I have to say. The 10k started at 7:55am on the Mall. I woke up at 6:00am has some black coffee and some oatmeal, packed up my backpack and headed down to the start line. I ran down to the start line, kind of making up a route as I went and ended up running just under 2 miles. It was a good warm up and I’m glad I got some extra mileage in before the race. I immediately went to the bag check (UPS trucks) and then just wandered around taking in the scene. Luckily I didn’t have to use the bathroom because the porta-potty lines were SUPER long.

Good morning, DC!

You can see the big red start line if you look close enough.

There wasn’t much down time and before I knew it, it was time to line up. I was being very cautious about my time (not really sure why) and ended up lining up in the back of the 1:00 – 1:10 corral. While waiting for the race to start the girl next to me asked if I had run this race before because it was her first race ever. I was so excited for her (and told her that maybe 10 times). She was nervous but I told her it was a great course, with spectators and that it really never thins out so she would have people around her at all times and I promised she would have fun. Her fiance was also running it but was lined up in a faster corral. I never saw her again after we started but I hoped she had an amazing race!

I definitely started out a little too far back but I got into a good pace pretty quickly. I stayed in the 9 minute range the entire race and every time I looked down at my Garmin it was usually in the 9:35 – 9:38 range, which is great for me! I felt really great throughout the entire race and even found myself powering up each hill. It was a little windy in Crystal City and everyone was yelling about Sandy but other than that, the weather was great. I also felt like the race went by SO quickly, we were at mile 6 before I knew it. I knew the horrible hill was at the end and I powered up it as much as I could and crossed the finish line with my hands in the air. I felt awesome!

I thought I had managed to keep my time under an hour and was feeling really proud about that but I just looked up the results and turns out my time was 1:01:23. Not bad, not bad at all but I still wished I had been under an hour. A new 10k goal to work towards I think. Right after the race ended I grabbed some water and went directly to get my bag so I could hop on the metro and get back out on the course to see all the marathon runners.

I made it to around mile 16 trying to find friends and finally just stopped, worried I was going to miss some of them running through. I saw Emily who was sparkling away and yelled out to her. She sped by and gave me a big smile and wave. I next saw my friend Billy who was running a marathon for this first time. He looked great and was running at an awesome pace. I then saw my co-worker Noam who looked like he was just having a ball and managed to miss Meredith on the first go around (seriously, I’m sorry, Meredith).

After missing Meredith I totally panicked and literally ran to mile 25.5. and planted myself there determined to see her. I saw Billy again, missed Noam for a second time, am pretty sure I saw Erika and then Meredith came running up. I literally ran into the crowd and we gave each other the biggest hug ever. She looked amazing and I ran with her a bit and gave her some last words on encouragement and she powered through the end with a strong finish.

I’m so in awe of all of my friend who ran the marathon. They are truly amazing!! I love watching races so much and was totally emotional throughout the entire thing. I love when spectators finally see their runner and erupt in screams. I tear up every single time. The MCM also tends to have a lot more emotion attached to it and I truly think it’s an awesome race. Congrats to all the runners!

I’m already looking forward to the 5k Addy and I are doing on the 9th and I’m ready for the half to just be here already. I had 10 miles slated for my long run over the weekend and I ended up doing 8. I never ran the last two miles but between the race and all the walking I did that day (all over the race course and then HOME…yes I walked from Rosslyn to Logan Circle)I felt like my legs had done all they could for the day. I threw on on my compression sleeves and worked out my legs with The Stick when I got home. Three weeks to go until the half!

Let’s continue to make this the longest post ever and take a look at last week’s SIDI and what’s coming up for this week:

Monday – Rest – success!
Tuesday – 3.5 mile run – success!
Wednesday – Spin + Body Pump – success!
Thursday – 4 mile run – success!
Friday – Spin – did not happen
Saturday – Zumba + Body Pump – played tennis for an hour with a friend instead – loved it!
Sunday – MCM 10K Race + 4 additional miles (for a long run of 10 total) – 8 miles completed

This week’s:

Monday – Rest
Tuesday – R&R Run (3-4 miles easy)
Wednesday – Spin + Body Pump
Thursday – R&R Run (3-4 miles easy)
Friday – Spin
Saturday – 11 mile run
SundayRest

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Race Recap: MCM 10k”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

