MCM Expo

Posted on October 26, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Meredith and I went to the Marine Corps Marathon Expo yesterday. The expo was set to open at 4pm and around 3pm Addy sent us a photo of the line that had already formed, so instead of leaving a little before 4pm, we hopped in the car and sped off to the DC Armory to get in line.

Boy am I glad we did. The lines were out of control. I can only imagine what it looks like on Saturday!

We waited in line for 45 minutes being entertained by the folks in line around us (the guy next to us has run 30 marathons – 30!!!!) and the Marine band. Meredith also made a new friend:

Oh hey, Molly!

Once the line started moving we were in and out of the bib area very quickly.

Bibs for all!

We then got into a new line to go into the Armory. Meredith reminded me we have to go through security. I mean we have to go through security to get lunch across the street yet this still seemed time consuming and annoying. Where isn’t there security in DC? But once we were in the expo, we grabbed our t-shirts and our desperately needed large plastic bags and took a lap around.

I tried some new Nuun flavors and wanted to buy some buy they only took cash and I didn’t have any on me 😦 I was excited to finally taste the famous Kona Kola and really liked it. I also sampled a bunch of different energy shot options for when I run out of Honeystingers. I enjoyed the Clif Blocs in Tropical and they were pretty tasty. They were larger than the Honeystingers and more gooey. I also tried Gu Chomps in Watermelon and LOVED the flavor. So tasty!! I tried the strawberry too and did not like them. I’m glad I have two other options that are available in more stores in the area so I can switch up my nutrition and not have to order Honeystingers all the time.

Meredith bought a new snazzy headband and then we made our way over to The Stick booth. I mean I knew I wanted to buy one ever since Addy got hers but the guy totally sold me on it 100%. He showed me how to use it effectively on my legs, back and neck. It felt so good and ticklish too. Yes, I am that person that laughs incessantly when I’m getting a pedicure 🙂 I’m happy to have a foam roller and a stick now and once I work on actually stretching a lot more, I think my legs will be in much better shape moving forward. The guy also showed me how to use The Stick to help shin splints so I’m looking forward to giving that a go as well.

Overall it was a successful expo trip and I think Meredith and I are both pumped up for our races.

They roll out the red carpet for runners 🙂

Good luck to all of the runner’s hitting the pavement this weekend in any and all races. I especially want to wish good luck to Meredith (running her second marathon, first MCM), Noam (running MCM for the second time) and Billy (running his first marathon ever!). I’m so excited to cheer all of you on this Sunday!!

Stephanie

P.S. Please go away, Sandy.

Thursday’s workout: 4 mile run
Thursday’s meals highlight: Sweetgreen October Salad for dinner

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

