Shin Splints + SIDI

Posted on October 22, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

So, my SIDI wasn’t my best last week. In fact, it was pretty mediocre.

Monday – Rest – success!
Tuesday – 3.5 mile run –  4 mile run success!
Wednesday – 4 mile run – 3 mile run success!
Thursday – 6 mile run – did not happen
Friday – Rest – attempted 6 miles and only got in 2 (see below)
Saturday – Rest – success!
Sunday – Some sort of workout when I get home from the wedding – did not happen

I had every intention of running those 6 miles on Friday morning. I hopped out of bed right away, got dressed and went out into the rain to bust them out. However, my back and my shins were not interested. I must have just slept at a weird angle the night before but I could not stand up straight when I got out of bed that morning. I went through my usual lower back stretches that I know and tried to loosen up but it just wasn’t working. I figured I’d walk a bit and loosen up some more before running. Well, I never loosened up and when I did get to slow jog, my left shin was killing me. Like serious pain. I managed to do 2 miles at a jog/walk pace before finally throwing in the towel. The 6 mile run just wasn’t happening. I iced my shin a bit when I got home and tried to stretch out my body as much as possible. I’m hoping the compression sleeves I ordered last week will arrive soon and will help me with my shin splints. Here’s hoping!

I’m eager to get back on the training bandwagon this week and this week is even more exciting because IT’S A RACE WEEK. I mean FINALLY. The lack of a September race (I’ve decided that since I did two races in May and will be doing two races in November that I can call my lack of a September race a wash) has gotten me even more excited for the Marine Corps Marathon 10K this weekend. I’m also excited to watch friends run it for the first time (Meredith and Billy!) and cheer on others who have done it before. Can I just be a permanent race cheerleader please? It would be the best job ever. Just saying.

Let’s check out the SIDI for this week:

Monday – Rest
Tuesday – 3.5 mile run
Wednesday – Spin + Body Pump
Thursday – 4 mile run
Friday – Spin
Saturday – Zumba + Body Pump
Sunday – MCM 10K Race + 4 additional miles (for a long run of 10 total)

My plan is to run to the race start line, run the race and then eventually run back home. Kind of a broken up long run but I’m going to make it work and I know I’ll have better success doing this then running back to back on Saturday and Sunday. Sometimes you just gotta be yourself and do what’s best for you. Only 4 more weeks of training before the half and I’m determined to get in every last run before then.

I promise to take pictures at the event tonight. PROMISE.

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

