Best Birthday Ever!

Posted on October 17, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Just when I think my birthday can’t get any better from the year before, it does!  I attribute that to amazing family, friends and co-workers.  Technically I like to celebrate my birthday month/week/day so it’s no surprise that I kicked off my birthday weekend last Friday with a Nationals game. No need to talk about that in great detail, we all know what happened.

The rest of the weekend I met up with some friends, enjoyed some chicken pot pie a la Justin at our house on Saturday night, ran 11 miles and celebrated with a birthday dinner with my sister, brother-in-law, niece, nephew, Justin and a friend.  They hooked me up with a sweet new bag from a store called The Refinery in Brooklyn. It’s a great over the shoulder bag with some really fun colors and textures!   We also gave our niece her birthday gift (a week late, but she celebrates all month as well).  We gave her a Howdy Pop Cow, I had never heard of these things before, but it’s perfect for her because she’s always moving around the house, bouncing up and down or jumping.   She loved the gift and looked adorable bouncing around.  A few times she got a little scared and just picked it up to move it to a new location.

After a very lovely birthday celebration on Sunday night, I came to work on Monday morning to a nice stationery treat from Stephanie to kick off my birthday week!

Then Tuesday I woke up to go to my favorite Diesel class at Crunch and when I checked in to the gym, the computer sang a quick little happy birthday ditty!  Hey, I’m easy to please.

Once I got to work, Stephanie along with other co-workers dressed up my desk/office in all the birthday decor you can imagine. I was surprised with Good Stuff for lunch AND a gift card for later (double bonus) and special cupcakes for baseball!

Oh shoot, a baseball has fallen off one – maybe shedding a tear for the Nats’ loss.

The eating continued throughout the day with more cake in the afternoon – spice cake with pumpkin cream cheese frosting on the inside and cream cheese frosting on the outside.

So tasty!

Here are a few more highlights of how the celebration continued in the office:

I cannot stop eating these!

Office run recovery

Thanks for the many awesome hook ups, Stephanie!

Justin and I went to dinner last night for the final celebration of the day and because I got there early per usual, I ordered a lovely glass of prosecco to start the evening.

We had dinner at Blue Duck Tavern.  We had been once before and really enjoyed it then. I think since that time they got a new chef.  Regardless, the food was incredibly tasty.  The portions were pretty small, but after eating all day long it was actually the perfect amount of food for me.

I feel very lucky that I had so many people make my day/week/month so special for me.  I cannot thank everybody enough!  I think 32 is going to be a good year!

Addy

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

