The Bad Run

Posted on October 15, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I had a bad run. I’m attempting not to dwell on it because it was a bad run sandwiched in between a great weekend otherwise. Mimosa’s on Saturday and Sunday pretty much make anything better if you ask me.

Meredith ran 3 miles down to my place and we set off to do 10 miles from there. It was chilly out there but I still wore my running skirt – I mean I’m pretty much going to wear that until it’s frigid outside – and ended up being hot, of course. I just never found my groove which just made the run feel SO hard to me. We did a different loop than we normally do – we worked our way down to Haines Point and ran around it then around the Tidal Basin, back to the mall and then up into Dupont. The end of the run was hilly which was also making it tough. I just felt crappy and it just wasn’t a good run. We stopped a number of times and if Meredith had not been there I absolutely would not have finished the run, I know it. I’m glad we stuck it out and I got my 10 miles in.

It’s funny that those 10 miles were such a struggle when the weekend before I felt great after 9 miles. Why does that 1 mile make such a huge difference? I have another 10 mile run coming up in two weeks and two 11 mile runs on my schedule for the next month so I know I have a few more chances to get in a great long run before the race. The bad run happened, but it’s over now and there are only good runs ahead of me.

My weekend also involved a super cute baby and a giant pizza among other things.

Oh hey, Emma.

I tried to use the hat as scale. It was huge and delicious.

Speaking of other upcoming runs, let’s check in on how my SIDI went and what’s coming up for this week.

Last week’s:

Monday – Zumba – success!
Tuesday – 2 mile run + strength training – 2 mile run success!
Wednesday – Spin – did not happen
Thursday – 4 mile run + strength training – 4 mile run success!
Friday – Spin or maybe Bar Method – neither happened
Saturday – 10 mile run + strength training – 10 mile run success!
Sunday – Rest – success!

The good news is that I’m continually getting my mileage in for the week. The bad news is that I’m being a huge slacker about cross training – especially strength training. I need to work on that for sure! This week I’m heading out of town on Thursday for a wedding so I am determined to get my three runs in for the week before then. My SIDI is a little different this week but I’m going to make it work!

Monday – Rest
Tuesday – 3.5 mile run
Wednesday – 4 mile run
Thursday – 6 mile run
Friday – Rest
Saturday – Rest
Sunday – Some sort of workout when I get home from the wedding

I’m trying to be realistic about my week and am just concentrating on getting my mileage in. If I happen to have time to go to class or do some strength training, I’ll be sure to get it done.

I may or may not be going to see Pitch Perfect again tonight with some co-workers 🙂

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

