Running Weekend

Posted on October 1, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This weekend I ran in the Columbia Lighthouse for the Blind 5k at Nationals Stadium.  A friend of mine volunteers with the organization and asked if I wanted to do the run with her.  After I signed up, I realized there was a victory lap around the inside of Nationals Stadium – added bonus!

I tried to snap some pictures while I was running.  We ran around  Nationals Stadium and then on the newly designed waterfront park.  I had not been down there at all before and it is really pretty.

There are apartments/condos that have already been built and presumably people are living in them.  It looks like the retail space is coming up next.  I can’t wait to see what the area has to offer in a few months.

I ran with my friend the whole time and we had a really nice pace – we finished in 34 minutes.  My friend is just getting back into running and her goal was to be able to run the whole thing and she did it!

Afterwards we did our “victory lap” inside the stadium.  For me, it was an opportunity to pose for as many cheesy pictures as possible!

First view of the inside.

I’ve been to the stadium many times, but never had the chance to go on the field. I always thought about how I needed to go with my nephew on one of the days that kids can run around the bases at the end of a game, but have not done that yet!

Wishing I could hang in the dugout:

And one more shot, because I think it’s such a pretty field!

Not only did they have the perk of walking around the inside of Nats field, there were also tons of goodies to collect before and after the race.  I ended up with a K-Swiss visor, various food items from Safeway and a pulled pork sandwich post race at 10:00 a.m.

After a successful 5k on Saturday I got a much needed haircut and did some shopping with Justin and then we went to see the movie Looper. I was not at all interested in seeing this movie, but I was excited about the prospect of popcorn!  The movie ended up being quite good and more than I expected!

On Sunday, I set out for my 9 miles with some honey stinger chews.  Stephanie and our friend Meredith have both raved about them so I wanted to try them out. I’m terrible at refueling while I run and made it my goal to be better at that this weekend. I wore a camelbak because I don’t have a water bottle that is made for running and I don’t typically run by too many water fountains.  I had half of a honey stinger at mile 3 and it gave me a really nice energy boost.  When I had another half around mile 5 I was hoping for that same boost, but alas it did not happen. I had a full one at mile 6 and felt fine, but was ready to be done with 9 miles at this point.  My pace was all over the place and has been for my long runs. I was in between 9:00 and 10:30 on several different miles.  After my boost at mile 3 – I went 9:00 on the dot.

When I was training before, I could usually keep every mile under 10:00. It is a real struggle to do that now and I don’t know what the difference between now and then is.  I have been doing one day of speed work this training cycle so hopefully that will help me on race day.  I, of course, would love to PR in Philly in November, but have not put too much stock in it and know that I have more races on the horizon.

And back to the Nationals – this week in their final series, they should clinch their division. Tomorrow I am going to the game with some co-workers and while I want them to win tonight and have the suspense be over, I would also love to see them do it in person tomorrow!
Go Nats!!

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

